chat loading...
Skip to main content

Creative Writing: Articles/Journals

A guide to research by Pratima Ghale at Mt. Holyoke College. Used with permission for students at Hollins University, using Wyndham Robertson Library.

Article Indexes and Databases at MHC

Having trouble finding articles?
Ask a librarian to suggest databases related to your topic.

Why articles?

Articles can be found in publications called magazines, journals, periodicals, newspapers and other publications.  These have a regular publishing schedule e.g. daily, weekly, monthly annually, etc. Articles are good sources for the most recent research or information on a topic, coverage of a very narrow topic, coverage of current events.

Which article index or database do I use?

This depends on your topic.  A full list of links all the indexes and databases to which the Wyndham Robertson Library subscribes is available on the Articles & Databases page; this page also has the databases arranged by subject, to target the indexes and databases best suited to your topic.  

Articles on the Web

Google Scholar Multi-disciplinary Database

Note: Some search results may link to subscription-only articles.  If you find you're being asked to pay to view an article you find via Google Scholar, note the title and date of the article as well as the title of the journal it appears in.  Then search the title in Journalfinder to see if we subscribe to this journal in print or online.  If not, you can always make an Interlibrary Loan request to get a copy of the article from another library that does have a subscription.  In short: don't pay to view an article if you don't have to!

Google Scholar Search

Searching Tips

Use a database that covers your subject area to find articles published on your topic.

  • use the words AND, OR and NOT to combine words
  • put quotation marks around phrases, ex. "civil war"
  • use *  as a wildcard to stand in for letters, ex. educat* finds education, educational, educators

To narrow your results, use the database tools to limit by

  • Peer-reviewed, scholarly articles: articles reviewed and approved by experts in the field before publication
  • document type: select or eliminate articles, book chapters, newspaper articles, dissertations
  • date: only see results of articles published within a useful time period

When you find articles you want:

  • use  to locate or request the full text
  • select the results that are useful and save, email, print, or export them

  What if an article isn't full-text in my database?

First, make sure you're looking at an article. Then click on Hollins JournalFinder. The video below shows you what you'll see.

View the video:journalfinder_movie

Image Credits