chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Creative Writing: Story Ideas

A guide to research by Pratima Ghale at Mt. Holyoke College. Used with permission for students at Hollins University, using Wyndham Robertson Library.

Picture

Eureka

Image credit: Eureka!

Sources for generating story ideas

The News

The news in all formats is a great source of story ideas.  A sampling of news resources:

  • WRL's Newspaper Databases - includes databases containing US, International, and historic newspapers.
  • This American Life Radio Archives - Online archive of a radio show featuring real life narratives based on a different theme each episode.
  • wwiTV - Directory of television news channels web sites (many offer video content live or recorded online).  Use the Countries menu to target channels in a specific geographic area.

Diaries and Memoirs

Life stories are another potential source of story ideas.  Some collections available at MHC:

Images

Pictures can evoke stories. Plenty of images are freely available on the Internet, but a few of our library image databases also provide background information about the pictures they contain:

Music

Songs often tell stories and music can evoke mood (plus sometimes it's just fun to have some background music when you're writing!).  Some music sources:

  • Naxos Music Library - Collection of online streaming music (all genres)
  • YouTube - Search by artist, song name, or genre (e.g., Irish Music)