Creative Writing
Originally a guide to research by Pratima Ghale at Mt. Holyoke College. Used with permission for students at Hollins University, using Wyndham Robertson Library (2014). Updates after 2014 are by the WRL.
AWP
- Association of Writers & Writer's Programs"AWP provides support, advocacy, resources, and community to nearly 50,000 writers, 550 college and university creative writing programs, and 150 writers’ conferences and centers. Our mission is to amplify the voices of writers and the academic programs and organizations that serve them while championing diversity and excellence in creative writing."
The page linked here provides information for on careers and publishing. Some videos are member-only content, some are not.
Publishing Directories, Websites, and more
Publishing Directories
Literary market place : LMPCall Number: HU Reference PN161 .L57 2020ISBN: 9781573875585Publication Date: Library keeps latest editionLiterary Market Place, published annually, is a directory of the book publishing industry. Volume 1 covers publishers, literary agents, editorial services, trade associations and foundations, calendar of events, book trade courses, awards and prizes, and books and magazines for the trade. Volume 2 covers public relations, book reviewers, book clubs, manufacturers, prepress services, distributors and wholesalers, consultants, employment agencies, translators, and artists and art services. Also available online, for a fee.
The Writer's marketCall Number: PN161 .W83Publication Date: Library keeps latest editionPublished annually. Describes itself as a "Where & how to sell what you write" kind of guide. Unlike LMP, which is mainly a directory, Writer's Market has several introductory sections on the process of getting published with attention given to different kinds of markets.
Websites
- Duotrope
"Duotrope is a subscription-based service for writers and artists that offers an extensive, searchable database of current fiction, poetry, nonfiction, and visual art publishers and agents, a calendar of upcoming deadlines, a personal submission tracker, and useful statistics compiled from the millions of data points we've gathered on the publishers and agents we list." - Poets & Writers
Poets & Writers includes sections on "Getting Your Work Published," "Promoting Your Writing," and "Find your Community".
Local Resources
- Book City Roanoke
"We’re mapping a BOOK CITY, right here in Roanoke, exploring equity and engagement at the intersection of books and place." The link will take you to a listing of local writing groups.