Dance Research, History & Criticism (2024)
Articles in OneSearch and Google Scholar
This search combines the Hollins + Roanoke College collections.
Need some help? We have videos about how to use OneSearch.
Find more full text! LibKey automatically creates links to full text article PDFs from the library's subscriptions.
More Databases - All Subjects
- A-Z Database ListClick on the "Subjects" dropdown to see all available subject areas
More Databases - Dance in Scholarly Journals and Other Sources
Sign in using the Hollins login you use for my.hollins, email, etc.
- Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text sources for 20th & 21st century dance: magazines, photographs, letters, dance notation, and reference material.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new windowMore than 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of dance and performance in 126 countries.
- Arts & Sciences (JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowFull text-articles from a wide range of journals in the arts and sciences. TIP: using advanced search, you can limit your search by discipline – Performing arts, Feminist & Women's studies, etc.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 7,000 publications on all academic subjects, including more than 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. You will also find books, reports, etc.
- Google ScholarBroad coverage of scholarly material on all subjects. Not all full text, but you can find some interesting material not found elsewhere.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text academic journals in the arts and sciences published by Johns Hopkins Univ. Press.
- Dissertations Online This link opens in a new window2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day; 1.2 million full text dissertations.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndex for journal articles, reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Use this database to find context: it contains many history journals not found in any of our other databases.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCompanion to "America & History & Life", this searches for articles, dissertations and more on the history of the world from 1450 onward, EXCEPT FOR the U.S. and Canada. TIP: Advanced search allows limiting by language and historical period.
More Databases - News
- Access World News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowOur most comprehensive collection of newspapers and other media sources, Access World News is an excellent source for small to medium-sized papers across the United States, and for international media sources.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowA current news and business database, Factiva includes content from newspapers, magazines, and transcripts from television/radio news programs. INCLUDES Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and New York Times.
- Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis) This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 15,000 business, news, and legal sources.
- Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from popular magazines from 1890-1982. RG contains citations from over 3 million articles from 375 leading magazines.
More Databases - Archives
- HIV, AIDS & the Arts This link opens in a new window"HIV, AIDS & the Arts will aim to preserve approximately 75,000 pages and items of primary sources in all art forms whenever possible: Sheet music, manuscripts, playbills and production notes, and all manner of visual art, as well as the personal papers of lesser known artists of all types."
How to search
AND, OR, & NOT (also known as "Boolean operators") help you combine search words, to find what you are looking for. Watch this video to find out how it works:
Adapted from the materials created by The University of Auckland Library, NZ. This video is covered by a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-ShareAlike license.
Database Search Tips
Use AND to connect ideas
Use ( OR ) to search synonyms or related terms:
(women OR female) AND (choreographers OR directors)
Place names or other phrases in quotations:
“contact improvisation”
Use truncation to search all forms of a word:
perform* for performer, performers, performance, performances…
Use subject headings: find them under “subjects”, “thesaurus” or “index.” JSTOR doesn’t have s.h.’s; for more precision, search the abstract only.
Too-short articles? Specify length. Lexis-Nexis uses “and length>400”
Check HELP: not all databases use the same commands!!