FYS: The Political Print (2021)
Why Encyclopedias
Why? Because they're vetted expert sources that give you a solid summary of important evidence, usually followed by a must-read list. For example:
- Grove/Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowThe most complete available encyclopedia and dictionary for the study of art; includes images and object information.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Call Number: E-Book from Ebscohost/Taylor & FrancisPublication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Native American Artists by Call Number: HU-Reference N6538.A4 E94 2008Publication Date: 2008
Reference Books are on the library's 1st floor.
More Books
Worldcat: Find books in libraries worldwide, and order them via Inter-Library Loan if Hollins does not have them.
TIP: Using www.worldcat.org will sort your results by relevance; using hollins.worldcat.org will put our books first.
Google Books contains full text for books in the public domain (pre-1923); partial text for books under copyright.
Very useful for finding out which books contain information on your topic; then you can order them via inter-library loan if Hollins doesn't have them.
More Articles
- Art and Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window600+ full-text journals on art, architecture, film & photography. Includes scholarly journals, international titles, images, and also books; topics include art theory and criticism, news, exhibition reviews and more.
- Google ScholarBroad coverage of scholarly material on all subjects. Note: not included in OneSearch. Do evaluate results: not all in this database is scholarly.
To link Google Scholar to library resources, click on Settings, then click on Library Links, then search for Hollins and check those boxes.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an archive of scholarly journal articles and eBooks from a wide variety of disciplines (from the sciences to the humanities to the arts), with journal coverage dating back to the 1800s. The most recent two to five years of a journal may not be included, however.
More Reference
Credo searches encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources. For example, Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements.
If Hollins Doesn't Have It
You can request books, films, and articles the library doesn't own via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
ILL takes approximately 2-4 days for articles, 1-3 weeks for books and films.
For more information on how ILL works, watch this video.