Photography (2024): Images & Photography Journals
A guide for students in photography classes- created by librarian Maryke Barber
Image Databases
- ARTstor Image Collections (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Search: use keywords, then refine your results using classification, geography, date, etc.
Features:
- Open images by double-clicking them
- Zoom, pan, rotate.
Save images in your JSTOR workspace
Log into your JSTOR workspace via your Microsoft account from Hollins. This will let you:
- Create, share, and download folders with images and articles;
- Present from your workspace using zoom, pan, and image comparison features.
Need help? Try the users guide for Artstor collections on JSTOR.
- Grove/Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Search: using keyword, or Advanced Search using Image Search.
In an artist biography, go to the “Images” tab. Make sure you scroll down to see all links to images on museum and gallery web sites. Warning: not all these links will work (but most will).
Features:
-
- Open images by clicking them
- Download by right-clicking (PC) or dragging to desktop (Mac).
Suggested Websites: Contemporary Photography
- AP (American Photography) Archive
- Artsy: Photography
- Fraenkel Gallery
- Getty Images
- International Center of Photography's e-Museum
The Permanent Collection at ICP contains more than 100,000 photographs spanning the history of the photography, from daguerreotypes to gelatin silver and digital chromogenic prints. The collection is strongest in its holdings of American and European documentary photography of the 1930s to the present; try both the "Exhibitions" and "Explore" links to browse online collections. - MOMA/the Collection/Photography
Search by artist or work, or browse by decade. - Museum of Contemporary Photography
More than 8,500 photographs and photography-related objects made since 1936. - Paris Photo: Gallery List
- Photography Now
Online portfolios of international fine art photographers. - Pulitzer Prize Winners
Categories: Breaking News Photography; Feature Photography - Robert Klein Gallery
19th century, 20th century and contemporary photography.
Photography Journals & Magazines
- 1000 Words
- Aperture
- Aperture Blog
- Aperture Magazine - new issues are in the Reading Room on the library's first floor.
- Dear Dave
- Foam Magazine Digital Archive
- Lensculture
- Life Magazine Digital Archive
Suggested Websites: Historical Photographs
- Art Institute of Chicago - Photography
- Eastman Museum Photography Collection
- Graphics Atlas
- International Center of Photography's e-Museum
The Permanent Collection at ICP contains more than 100,000 photographs spanning the history of the photography, from daguerreotypes to gelatin silver and digital chromogenic prints. Try both the "Exhibitions" and "Explore" links to browse online collections. - Life PhotoArchive
Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, from the 1750s to 1970s. - MOMA Object:Photo (1909-1949)
- Museum of Contemporary Photography
More than 8,500 photographs and photography-related objects made since 1936. - Pulitzer Prize Winners
Categories: Photography; Spot News Photography