chat loading...
Skip to main content

Photography (2019): Background & Reference

A guide for students in photography classes- created by librarian Maryke Barber

Encyclopedias in the Library

Use these books (and other reference books), found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of the library, as a starting place for your research.  They are a good place to:

  • find background information on your photographers
  • get book lists ("bibliography" or "references")
  • research country, period, style, contemporaries: what was/is their life like?

Ask The Librarian

Maryke Barber's picture
Maryke Barber
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
mbarber@hollins.edu
(540)362-6592
Office: Wyndham Robertson Library, 1st floor, Room 102

B.F.A., Music Theatre, Shenandoah College and Conservatory
M.F.A., Theatre, Virginia Commonwealth University
M.S., Information Science, University of Tennessee
Website
Subjects:Art, Dance, Film, Music , Theatre

Grove/Oxford Art Online Encyclopedia

Grove/Oxford Art Online

Search this excellent art & architecture encyclopedia for genres, movements, and people.

Credo Online Encyclopedias

Credo Logo


Credo is a large collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries on all subjects; it also contains core titles such as the Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art & Artists

To browse, check out:

Oxford Reference Encyclopedias

O.R. contains reference information on all subjects. For photography, try the "Oxford Companion to the Photograph."