Music History 2023
a guide for students in music classes, created by librarian Maryke Barber
Online Encyclopedias
Credo includes dictionaries and encyclopedias on all subjects. Click here to see a list of Music titles.
Sample reference books, all time periods
-
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Call Number: HU Music Library Ref. ML100.N48 2001The #1 music encyclopedia: start here. -
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (10 vols.)
Call Number: Music Library Ref: ML100 .G16 1998 -
Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians
Call Number: Music Library Ref: ML105 .B16 1992 -
Historical Dictionary of English Music, 1325-1958
Call Number: Music Library Ref: ML101.E5 M34 2011 -
Historical dictionary of sacred music
by
Call Number: Music Lib Ref: ML102.C5 S93 2006
Browsing the Reference Books
Reference books are located on the first shelves to your right, when you enter the Music Library. We have more than 300 music reference books!
In W. R. Library reference books are on the first floor. Call numbers:
- ML = Music (Music Library)
- D = History (W. R. Library)
Western Music History, 1750 - present
-
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music (10 vols.)
Call Number: Music Library Ref: ML102.P66 G84 2006 -
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World (10 vols.)
Call Number: Music Library Ref: ML102.P66 C66 2003 -
Encyclopedia of African American Music (3 vols.)
Call Number: Music Library Ref: ML101.U6 E53 2011 -
Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music
Call Number: Music Library Ref: ML102.G6 E63 2005 -
Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock and Roll
Call Number: Music Library Ref: ML102.R6 R64 2001 -
The Encyclopedia of Country Music
Call Number: Music Library Ref: ML102.C7 E54 2012 -
Music in the USA: a documentary companion
Call Number: Music Library Ref: ML200 .M89 2008 -
The Grove Music Guide to American Film Music
Call Number: Music Library Ref: ML102.M68 G76 2019
Latin America
-
Music in Latin America and the Caribbean: an Encyclopedic History
Call Number: Music Reference ML199 .M858 2004Publication Date: 2004 -
The Garland Handbook of Latin American Music
Call Number: Music Reference ML199 .G36 2000 or as E-Book (click on link)Publication Date: 2000-08-08 -
Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music
Call Number: Music Reference ML101.L38 E53 2013Publication Date: 2013 -
Latin Music : musicians, genres, and themes
Call Number: Music Reference ML101.L38 L37 2014Publication Date: 2014 -
The Rough Guide to World Music
Call Number: Music Reference ML102.W67 W6 2000Publication Date: 2000 -
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
Call Number: Music Reference ML102.P66 C66 2003 -
The Garland encyclopedia of world music Vol. 2: South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean
Call Number: Music Reference ML100 .G16 1998ISBN: 0824049470Publication Date: 1998
Western Music History, Antiquity - 1750
-
Medieval Iberia : an encyclopedia
Call Number: W.R. Library Ref DP99 .M33 2003 -
Medieval Germany : an encyclopedia
Call Number: W.R. Library Ref DD157.M43 2001 -
Medieval England : an encyclopedia
Call Number: W.R. Library Ref DA129 .M43 1998 -
Europe 1450 to 1789 : encyclopedia of the early modern world (6 vols)
Call Number: W.R. Library Ref D209 .E97 2004 (6 vols) -
Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
Call Number: W.R. Library Ref. CB361 .C27 2003 -
Thesaurus cultus et rituum antiquorum (ThesCRA)
Call Number: BL727 .T44 2004Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman religion, rites and ceremonies. Vol. 2, section 4.c. is a series of articles about music in Ancient Greece and Rome, in a mix of English, French, German and Italian.
-
Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic tradition
Call Number: W.R. Library Ref DF757 .E53 2000 (2 vols.)ISBN: 1579581412
