Music History 2023
Articles in OneSearch
Listen!
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowDatabase of more than 165,000 tracks of music (11,000 CDs).
Find more full text! LibKey automatically creates links to full text article PDFs from the library's subscriptions.
Databases - Music Research
- Arts & Sciences (JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowFull text-articles from a wide range of journals in the arts and sciences. TIP: using advanced search, you can limit your search by discipline – Music, History, Folklore, etc
- Google ScholarBroad coverage of scholarly material on all subjects. Not all full text, but you can find some interesting material not found elsewhere.
- Rolling Stone This link opens in a new windowMagazine featuring articles and interviews on popular music, film, TV, and politics, 1967-present.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text academic journals in the arts and sciences by Johns Hopkins Univ. Press and other scholarly publishers.
- Dissertations Online This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 2.4 million entries in the Dissertations Online database. Abstracts are available for all, with full-text, including reference lists, available for more recent titles.
Databases - History & General
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowExcellent database for finding articles about North American history. TIP: Advanced search allows limiting by historical period.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCompanion to "America & History & Life", this searches for articles, dissertations and more on the history of the world from 1450 onward, EXCEPT FOR the U.S. and Canada. TIP: Advanced search allows limiting by language and historical period.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Tips for database searching
Use AND to connect ideas
Use ( OR ) to search synonyms or related terms: (women OR female) AND (musicians OR singers)
Place names or other phrases in quotations: “Brandenburg Concerto”
Use truncation to search all forms of a word: music* for music, musical, musician, musicians…
Use subject headings: find them under “subjects”, “thesaurus” or “index.” JSTOR doesn’t have s.h.’s; for more precision, search the abstract only.
Check HELP: not all databases have the same functions.
How to search
AND, OR, & NOT (also known as "Boolean operators") help you combine search words, to find what you are looking for. Watch this video to find out how it works:
Adapted from the materials created by The University of Auckland Library, NZ. This video is covered by a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-ShareAlike license.