ART264: Modern Art (2023): Reference & Web Sources
A guide for students in Professor Genevieve Hendricks's class, created by Librarian Maryke Barber
Architecture Encyclopedias and Dictionaries in the Library
Use these encyclopedias and dictionaries, found on the library's first floor, to help you find background information and sources for your research:
Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Art by Call Number: HU-Reference N6490 .M6758 2017
Styles, Schools and Movements by Call Number: HU-Reference N6490.4 .D45 2005
The Dictionary of the Avant GardesCall Number: HU-Reference NX456 .K67 2000
Historical Dictionary of Romantic Art and ArchitectureCall Number: HU-Reference N6465.R6 P35 2011
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century by Call Number: HU-Reference N6503 .N67 1995
Encyclopedia of Asian American Artists by Call Number: HU-Reference N6538.A83 H35 2007Look right next to this book for the Encyclopedias of African American Artists, Arab American Artists, Jewish American Artists and Native American Artists.
The Encyclopedia of Sculpture by Call Number: HU-Reference NB198 .E53 2004
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art by Call Number: HU-Reference N8510 .G76 2008
Recommended Encyclopedias - a Sample!
Don't forget the encyclopedias in history and culture - they can help you quickly find reliable information about culture, society and other aspects of your topic.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily LifeCall Number: HU-Reference GT31 .G74 2004
Encyclopedia of Modern ChinaCall Number: HU-Reference DS755 .E53 2009
Grove/Oxford Art Online Encyclopedia
- Grove/Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Search this excellent art encyclopedia for information about genres, movements, and artists. Look for the results from Grove Art Online and note the "Image" tab for each entry.
Note: our subscription works for 5 users at a time, if it won't load try another resource, then come back to Grove :)
Useful Web Sites
- Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum)With art, artist biographies, thematic essays and slide shows, the TOAH is a wonderful research tool.
- MOMAMOMA, the Museum of Modern Art in New York, has a website full of images, artist bios, related readings, and art term definitions (from the Grove Art Online encyclopedia)
- DadabaseThe online catalog of the library of MOMA, the Museum of Modern Art in New York, is a great place to look for books. (no full text)
- Archives of American Art (Smithsonian)Would you like to talk to Lee Krasner or Judy Chicago? Check out the hundreds of oral history interviews, thousand of letters and other digitized records in these archives.
- Feminist Art Base (Brooklyn Museum)This database explores the world of feminist art from the 1960s to the present.
Credo: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and More, oh My....
Credo will help you with definitions and longer overviews of topics in all subjects: history, culture, science and more.