JSTOR includes articles and eBooks from across all academic disciplines; to limit to sources from only a particular subject area, use this Advanced Search interface.
600+ full-text journals on art, architecture, film & photography. Includes scholarly journals, international titles, images, and also books; topics include art theory and criticism, news, exhibition reviews and more.
Full-text historical archive of consumer and trade magazines for art and architecture, 1860-2015. Subjects include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. Titles include Apollo, Art Monthly, Architectural Review, Print, and more.
Magazine of contemporary art news, exhibition reviews and artist interviews; also includes architecture, film, fashion, photography and music. This digital archive includes articles from 1962 - 2000.
Includes articles from over 1,200 journals. Covers material published between 1975 and 2007. Offers both basic and advanced search modules, searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements.
Search more than 2.4 million entries in the Dissertations Online database. Abstracts are available for all, with full-text, including reference lists, available for more recent titles. *please note* Most dissertations are LONG, so please use "print" judiciously.
Companion to "America & History & Life", this searches for articles, dissertations and more on the history of the world from 1450 onward, EXCEPT FOR the U.S. and Canada. TIP: Advanced search allows limiting by language and historical period.
Factiva has thousands of newspaper and manuscripts: use it for news about artists, interviews, exhibition reviews and more.
How to search
AND, OR, & NOT (also known as "Boolean operators") help you combine search words, to find what you are looking for. Watch this video to find out how it works:
Adapted from the materials created by The University of Auckland Library, NZ. This video is covered by a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-ShareAlike license.
Create a list of key words, and try different key words in your searches:
Who, what, where, when....topics, names and places are all good key words, so are titles, events or historical periods, genres/styles/other categories, expert terms.
Add to your list by looking for:
Subject terms in the catalog and databases.
related terms (intaglio, monoprint)
synonyms (female - woman)
No results? Search more broadly:
Try your search using fewer terms, or change to broader terms: for example, use the term paintings (broad), instead of just portraits (narrower).
Too many results? Narrow down by adding something:
Try combining search words, using "and" in between.
Search Tools
Always combine your terms using "AND":
picasso AND drawing AND models
Use the * (asterisk) wildcard, to search several terms at once.
