chat loading...
Skip to main content

ART264: Modern Art (2020): Find Books

A guide for students in Professor Genevieve Hendricks's class, created by Librarian Maryke Barber

E-Book Options

Search the Hollins and Roa. College collections:

To limit your search to E-Books change "Everything" to "Books" and search; when you have results, look on the left side under "Availability" and limit them to "Full Text Online."

Google Books contains full text for books in the public domain (pre-1923); partial text for books under copyright.

You can also use this to choose a chapter or two to request via Interlibrary Loan.

You can also use this to choose a chapter or two to request via Interlibrary Loan.

Books, Articles & Films

Search OneSearch (Hollins + Roa. College collections)

More Books

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Worldcat: Find books in libraries worldwide, and order them via Inter-Library Loan if Hollins does not have them.

TIPS:

  • Using www.worldcat.org will sort your results by relevance; using hollins.worldcat.org will put our books first.
  • When searching for a person in Worldcat, it helps to add a search term (or two) about who they are/what they do - to sort them out from other people with the same name. Try the following formula for artists, for example:

Kathryn Clark and art*

or use the advanced search:

  • keyword: "kathryn clark"
  • subject: art*

Google Books contains full text for books in the public domain (pre-1923); partial text for books under copyright.

Very useful for finding out which books contain information on your topic; then you can order them via inter-library loan if Hollins doesn't have them.

Where are the....

Art Books

 

HU - General Collection:
"N" call numbers are on the 3rd floor

 

HU - Folio:
1st floor (A-TP)

2nd floor balcony (TR-Z)

 

HU Annex
use the "request" function in the online catalog

 

Art Journals

 

*shelved alphabetically*

 

current issues:
Lewis Reading Room, 1st floor

 

older issues:
ground floor "compact" shelves 

Sample Subject Terms

Basic (+ time period);

  • Art, modern - 20th century
  • Art, modern - 21st century

Artist names (+)

  • Picasso, Pablo, 1881-1973
  • Picasso, Pablo, 1881-1973 - Catalogs
  • Picasso, Pablo, 1881-1973 - Criticism and interpretation
  • Picasso, Pablo, 1881-1973 - Exhibitions

 

Specific Genres:

  • Abstract Expressionism
  • Cubism
  • Minimalism
  • Pop art
  • Surrealism

Specific Media:

  • Drawing
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture

"Art and" OR "Art in":

  • Art and globalization
  • Art and religion
  • Art and war
  • Birds in art
  • Death in art
  • Sex in art

**********************************************

Doing keyword searches, you can combine terms in any way you like.
 
NOTE: This is only a starting point. Use all the terms you can think of that describe your topic in your searches.

Other Useful terms in the online catalog:

  • History
  • Social life and customs (as in "United States -- Social life and customs")
  • Social aspects

Use the *

Use the *  (asterisk) to truncate your search terms, to search several terms at once.
Example:  paint* = "paint"+ ""+ "painter" + "painting" + "paintings", etc.

Ask The Librarian

Maryke Barber's picture
Maryke Barber
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
mbarber@hollins.edu
(540)362-6592
Office: Wyndham Robertson Library, 1st floor, Room 102

B.F.A., Music Theatre, Shenandoah College and Conservatory
M.F.A., Theatre, Virginia Commonwealth University
M.S., Information Science, University of Tennessee
Website
Subjects:Art, Dance, Film, Music , Theatre