JTerm in Florence 2024
eBooks in OneSearch
We have so many eBooks about Florence! Here's how to find them:
- Change "Everything" to "Books"
- Enter your search terms (Florence Italy etc.)
- Use the "Full Text Online" filter to limit the results of your search.
Architecture of Italy by Publication Date: 2008
The art, history and architecture of Florentine churches by Publication Date: 2016
Medici Gardens : from making to design by Publication Date: 2017
Bronzino's Chapel of Eleonora in the Palazzo Vecchio by Publication Date: 1993
- JSTOR (Advanced Search) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides full text-articles from a wide range of journals, with great academic coverage of the arts. TIP: using advanced search, you can limit your search by Discipline: Art, History, etc., or limit your search by article type.
- Art and Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts and full text of articles from journals published throughout the world: art theory and criticism, exhibition reviews and more.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window
Includes over 1,200 art journals. Citations only, no full text, for articles published 1975 - 2007. Offers both basic and advanced search modules, searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title.
Let's Go To The Movies
Florence (BBC in Films on Demand)
With the help of 3-D scanning technology, Alexander Armstrong and Dr. Michael Scott explore the city of Florence. They reveal how its wonderful facades and artworks mask a hidden story of intrigue and secrecy and how one powerful family—the Medicis, known as the Godfathers of the Renaissance—was behind it all. They uncover the secrets of one of the most spellbinding achievements of architecture: the dome of Florence's cathedral. And they build a 3D model to reveal just how much of the city masks secret corridors of power that were the foundation of the city's Renaissance glory.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowWe provide access to Kanopy as a valuable resource for teaching, learning, and research. Because Kanopy charges the library based on the number of films viewed, we ask that HU community members limit their Kanopy viewing to films needed for those purposes of teaching, learning, and/or research. Thank you.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStream documentaries from academic subject collections, performances, features in world cinema and training videos.
- Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowReaders' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Coverage for this database includes the years 1890 through 1982
- Dissertations Online This link opens in a new window
- Google ScholarBroad coverage of scholarly material on all subjects. Note the need to evaluate results: it's not all full text, and it's not all scholarly. To link Google Scholar to library resources, click on Settings, then click on Library Links, then search for Hollins and check those boxes.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text academic journals and eBooks in the arts and sciences by Johns Hopkins Univ. Press and other scholarly publishers.
- Grove/Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowThe most complete available encyclopedia and dictionary for the study of art; includes images and object information.