JTerm in Florence 2024
eBooks in OneSearch
We have so many eBooks about Florence! Here's how to find them:
- Change "Everything" to "Books"
- Enter your search terms (Florence Italy etc.)
- Use the "Full Text Online" filter to limit the results of your search.
Early Italian Painting by Publication Date: 2011
Renaissance Art by Publication Date: 2007
Michelangelo by Publication Date: 2012
The Young Leonardo: art and life in fifteenth-century Florence by Publication Date: 2011
Medici Women : portraits of power, love and betrayal from the court of Duke Cosimo I by Publication Date: 2018
Did You Know?
The Khan Academy's Art History Videos are a great way to learn about a period or artist.
More films:
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowWe provide access to Kanopy as a valuable resource for teaching, learning, and research. Because Kanopy charges the library based on the number of films viewed, we ask that HU community members limit their Kanopy viewing to films needed for those purposes of teaching, learning, and/or research. Thank you.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStream documentaries from academic subject collections, performances, features in world cinema and training videos.
Web Sources
Uffizi Galleries
- Renaissance Nun’s ‘Last Supper’ Painting Makes Public Debut After 450 Years in Hiding (Smithsonian Magazine)
- Is It a ‘5’ or a ‘6’? The Answer Could Make an Art Fortune (NY Times)
- David's Ankles: How Imperfections Could Bring Down The World's Most Perfect Statue (NY Times)
- New Renaissance: how Florence is freeing its great female artists (Guardian)
Art Books, Journals & Magazines
- JSTOR (Advanced Search) This link opens in a new windowJSTOR includes articles and eBooks from across all academic disciplines; to limit to sources from only a particular subject area, use this Advanced Search interface.
JSTOR provides full text-articles from a wide range of journals, with great academic coverage of the arts. TIP: using advanced search, you can limit your search by Discipline: Art, History, etc., or limit your search by article type.
- Art and Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window600+ full-text journals on art, architecture, film & photography. Includes scholarly journals, international titles, images, and also books; topics include art theory and criticism, news, exhibition reviews and more.
Indexes, abstracts and full text of articles from journals published throughout the world: art theory and criticism, exhibition reviews and more.
Includes over 1,200 art journals. Citations only, no full text, for articles published 1975 - 2007. Offers both basic and advanced search modules, searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title.
Art Books, Journals & Magazines
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from over 1,200 journals. Covers material published between 1975 and 2007. Offers both basic and advanced search modules, searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements.
Other Useful Databases
- Dissertations Online This link opens in a new window
- Google ScholarBroad coverage of scholarly material on all subjects. Note the need to evaluate results: it's not all full text, and it's not all scholarly. To link Google Scholar to library resources, click on Settings, then click on Library Links, then search for Hollins and check those boxes.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text academic journals and eBooks in the arts and sciences by Johns Hopkins Univ. Press and other scholarly publishers.
Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Grove/Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowThe most complete available encyclopedia and dictionary for the study of art; includes images and object information.
Images
- ARTstor Image Database This link opens in a new windowTIP: using Advanced Search, you can narrow your search by date range, geography or classification.
- Grove/Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowThe most complete available encyclopedia and dictionary for the study of art; includes images and object information.
- Credo ReferenceCredo includes a variety of performing and visual art dictionaries and encyclopedias. Images from the National Gallery, Bridgeman Art Library and other sources.