chat loading...
Skip to main content

CLAS355: Human Form in Greek & Roman Art: Useful Websites

A guide for Professor Lorenzo's course.

Suggested Websites

Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Library contains primary and secondary texts for the study of ancient Greece and Rome; in addition to this, you'll find a massive library of art objects, sites, and buildings. The library's catalogs document 1305 coins, 1909 vases, 2003 sculptures, 179 sites, 140 gems, and 424 buildings. Each catalog entry has a description of the object and its context; most have images. Descriptions and images have been produced in collaboration with many museums, institutions, and scholars. Catalog information and keywords have been taken from standard sources, which are cited in the entries for each object.

THEOI
THEOI is a project that aims to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres), and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.  

 

TOCS-IN
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program.

Diotima

Diotima serves as an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean and as a forum for collaboration among instructors who teach courses about women and gender in the ancient world. This site includes course materials, the beginnings of a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images. Ross Scaife and Suzanne Bonefas launched this project in early 1995; since that time it has been developed mainly by Scaife, but with help and contributions from many quarters.

ABZU bibliography

Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean

APIS

APIS is a collections-based repository hosting information about and images of papyrological materials (e.g. papyri, ostraca, wood tablets, etc) located in collections around the world. It contains physical descriptions and bibliographic information about the papyri and other written materials, as well as digital images and English translations of many of these texts. When possible, links are also provided to the original language texts (e.g. through the Duke Data Bank of Documentary Papyri). The user can move back and forth among text, translation, bibliography, description, and image. With the specially-developed APIS Search System many different types of complex searches can be carried out.

 

Art History Resources on the Web

AHRW is a collection of links to museums, galleries and other resources.

Ask The Librarian

Rebecca Seipp's picture
Rebecca Seipp
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328