CLAS355: Human Form in Greek & Roman Art: Encyclopedias
A guide for Professor Lorenzo's course.
Historical Atlases
Historical Atlas of the Ancient WorldCall Number: 1st floor atlas stands: G1033 .H5713 2010ISBN: 9004171568This new atlas of the ancient world illustrates the political, economic, social and cultural developments in the ancient Near East, the Mediterranean world, the Byzantine Empire, the Islamic world and the Holy Roman Empire from the 3rd millennium BC until the 15th century AD.
Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman worldCall Number: G1033 .B3 2000ISBN: 069103169XMore information on the atlas: http://www.unc.edu/depts/cl_atlas/
Online Encyclopedias
- Grove/Oxford Art OnlineThe most complete available encyclopedia and dictionary for the study of art; includes images and object information.
- Credo ReferenceGeneral reference; all subjects including a variety of art dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Oxford Reference OnlineGeneral reference from Oxford University Press; all subjects including a variety of art dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Encyclopedias and Indexes in the Library
All of these can be found in the Reference Section on the first floor:
Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC)Call Number: N7760 .L49 1981ISBN: 3760887511Dictionary of classical mythology in art
Looking at Greek and Roman sculpture in stone: a guide to terms, styles, and techniquesCall Number: NB85 .G76 2003ISBN: 0892367083
Encyclopedia of comparative iconographyCall Number: N7560 .E53 1998ISBN: 1579580092Encyclopedia of themes and motives in art
Oxford Classical DictionaryCall Number: DE5 .O9 1999ISBN: 019866172XThe latest edition is available online in Oxford Reference (titled Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World)- The Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites byCall Number: HU-Reference DE59 .P7ISBN: 0691035423Publication Date: 1976-08-21
Thesaurus cultus et rituum antiquorum (ThesCRA)Call Number: BL727 .T44 2004ISBN: 0892367873Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman religion, rites and ceremonies- L'Année philologique; bibliographie critique et analytique de l'antiquité gréco-latineCall Number: on the "short" shelves, under ABibliography of classical literature and philology
Oxford Companion to Classical CivilizationCall Number: DE5 .O94 1998ISBN: 0198601654Also online, in Oxford Reference online encyclopedia- Pictorial dictionary of ancient AthensCall Number: NA280 .T68
Your Librarian
Rebecca Seipp
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328