CLAS355: Human Form in Greek & Roman Art: Journals & Databases
A guide for Professor Lorenzo's course.
Looking for a Journal?
Got citation, need full text?
Use OneSearch to see if Hollins has access, in a database or in the library:
If Hollins does not have access, use Inter-Library loan.
Journals in the Library
The journals we have "in print" are shelved alphabetically:
current issues:
Lewis Reading Room, 1st floor
older issues:
ground floor "compact" shelves
What if an article isn't full-text in my database?
First, make sure you're looking at an article. Then click on Hollins JournalFinder. The video below shows you what you'll see.
View the video:journalfinder_movie
Databases
- ARTstor Image Collections (JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowHigh-quality art images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world.TIP: using Advanced Search, you can narrow your search by classification, date range, and geography.
- Arts & Sciences (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
- Art and Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window600+ full-text journals on art, architecture, film & photography. Includes scholarly journals, international titles, images, and also books; topics include art theory and criticism, news, exhibition reviews and more.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe library's largest general interest database. Partial full text.
- Google ScholarBroad coverage of scholarly material on all subjects. Not all full text, but you can find some interesting material not found elsewhere.
- Dissertations OnlineSearch more than 2.4 million entries in the Dissertations Online database. Abstracts are available for all, with full-text, including reference lists, available for more recent theses and dissertations. *please note* Most dissertations are LONG, so please use "print" judiciously.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text academic journals and eBooks in the arts and sciences by Johns Hopkins Univ. Press and other scholarly publishers.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)Includes over 1,200 art journals. Citations only, no full text, for articles published 1975 - 2007. Offers both basic and advanced search modules, searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title.
Ask The Librarian
Rebecca Seipp
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328