Film Research Guide (2023)

Industry Data

Some data sets are only offered for a high price subscription, and some historical data can be difficult to locate. These are some freely available online sites with select industry data. 

• BoxOffice Pro

  From Box Office Magazine, contains box office data (only select historical) and offers free box office report subscription.
• MPAA Research and Reports

  Includes industry reports, theatrical market statistics, and state by state reports on the motion picture industry.
• Variety.com

  Variety is one of the most authoritative sources for box office data. However, the online site primarily searches articles instead of data sets. Use the database Nexis Uni to also search for articles in Variety and Daily Variety.
• Box Office Guru

  Box office statistics, though the origins of the stats are not always clear.
• The Numbers (box office)
• TV by the Numbers

  Includes industry news and select data on broadcast and cable television, as well as some new media.
• Nielsen Insights

  Nielsen's blog with very select stories and data. A useful source for keeping up with current trends in viewership and new media delivery.
• Focus: World Film Market

  Contains select industry numbers from different countries, 1998-present.
• Hollywood Diversity Report (UCLA Bunche Center)

  A yearly report (2014-present) on diversity in the industry from the UCLA Bunche Center for African American Studies.
• Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media: Research Reports

  The Institute compiles reports on industry topics related to gender disparity both on screen and behind the camera.
• Futon Critic

  Includes recent basic stories and ratings on the television industry.
• Radio's Online History Resource

  Full text scans of historical broadcasting magazines in the fields of radio and television. Includes Broadcasting Magazine, Broadcasting Yearbook, Radio Annual, and more.
• Hollywood Writers Report

  From the Writers' Guild of America, this report "provides new information on the progress of women, minority, and older writers on the television employment front."

Credit for the contents of this box: Diana King, UCLA Library. http://guides.library.ucla.edu/film/entertainmentindustry

Industry News and Trade Journals

Most of these sites are useful for contemporary news only. For older content, use databases listed under "Articles & Databases," - especially the Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive.

• Variety

  Freely search articles from the magazine from 2003-present. See the separate box on Variety for information on more years and content.
• Hollywood Reporter
• A.V. Club

  A non-parody entertainment news site from The Onion.
• Advertising Age

  Includes only recent articles.
• Adweek
• Bloomberg Media Industry News
• Broadcasting & Cable

  **Note that some articles are blocked behind a pay wall on the website. You can often get these articles via databases like Communication & Mass Media, Nexis Uni and Factiva.
• CinemaBlend

  Entertainment industry news, including gaming.
• Company Town (Los Angeles Times)

  LA Times blog devoted to entertainment industry news.
• Deadline Hollywood

  Industry news site, owned by publishing company PMC.
• EW.com (Entertainment Weekly)

  Contains some blogs that are separate from the print magazine's contents.

  Guardian.co.uk: Film
  Reviews, features, clips and blogs.

• Los Angeles Business Journal

  L.A.-focused business news (theaters and exhibition, media technology, business leaders, etc.). 
• Media Business Section (New York Times)

  NY Times on the media industry.
• Media Life Magazine

  "[W]ritten for the benefit of America’s media planners and buyers and the advertisers they serve." Includes short articles with reviews, news, and some data.
• Movieline

  Movie previews, reviews, and news.

  The New York Times: Movies
  ​Reviews, features, recommendations, clips.

• Rapid TV News

  Online daily news for the TV industry: broadcast technology, information, analysis, and more.
• Screen International (ScreenDaily)

  Online news blog for the industry magazine Screen International. 
• Speakeasy (Wall Street Journal)

  The entertainment news blog for WSJ.
• SSN Insider

  This free, twice-daily newsletter from Baseline provides a synopsis of industry news. The Hollins Library does NOT have access to Baseline's data resources.
• Superhero Hype

  Blog covering superhero franchises in comics, film, and television.
• TV Guide.com

  Recent articles only.
• TVLine
• Vulture (New York Magazine)

  Entertainment news and gossip, part of New York Magazine online.

Credit for the contents of this box: Diana King, UCLA Library. http://guides.library.ucla.edu/film/entertainmentindustry

Variety and Daily Variety

Variety began in 1905 as a weekly trade paper covering all types of show business. Daily Variety was published from 1933-2013 and focused on motion pictures. Since 2012, Variety has been owned by Penske Media, which also owns Deadline Hollywood. There have been a number of regional/international/special editions at different times.

Search and read Variety:

• Media History Digital Library (1905-1949)

  Scanned issues of weekly Variety from 1905-1949. Search via the projects "Lantern" interface.
• Variety

  Freely search articles from Variety and Daily Variety from 2003-present. Not all data sets will show up on the free version of the site.

Credit for the contents of this box: Diana King, UCLA Library. http://guides.library.ucla.edu/film/entertainmentindustry