chat loading...
Skip to main content

Film Research Guide (2020)

Newspaper and Magazine Reviews

Check the Articles & Databases page for summaries and reviews in the following formats:

  • Journal & Magazine Databases, Newspapers :
    recent film reviews and articles from 1980-current.
     
  • Article Indexes :
    pre-1980 film reviews and articles.

Reviews Links

DVD Beaver
DVD release reviews, comparisons and other information. Also posts side-by-side comparisons of DVD transfers, including frame grabs and bitrate charts.

Feminist Film Reviews, 1992-2002
Part of the University of Maryland's Women's Studies Database.

Metacritic
"Compiles reviews from respected critics and publications for film, video/dvd, books, music, television and games."

Movie Review Query Engine
Reviews from a wide range of sources, along with lists of new releases, most recently popular titles, etc.

New York Times Film Reviews
"Browse or search 15,000 New York Times movie reviews. Included are all films reviewed since 1960."

Rotten Tomatoes
Focuses on recent reviews; site is a little ad-heavy but still useful.

Roger Ebert's Reviews
"Advanced search" allows you to search by genre, actor, rating, release date and more.

Sight & Sound Magazine reviews
"Reviews, synopses and credits and features published in Sight & Sound since 1999." Note: not all are freely online, but our library has the journal available.

Variety
The industry source for entertainment news. For more full-text access also see our online databases.

Summaries Links

AFI Catalog Database
"Filmographic information for all American feature films produced from 1893-1972, as well as AFI AWARDS Outstanding Movies of the Year for 2000-06."

British Film Institute Film & TV Database
Search films, documentaries, filmographies, even festival listings.

Filmportal.DE
German films and filmmakers: synopses, biographies, production information and more.

Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
Online database with plot summaries, cast and crew lists, reviews, statistics and more.

Article Indexes

Indexes help you search older magazines and newspapers for film reviews and articles.  These are the most important print indexes for film research:

SHELVED ALPHABETICALLY

  • Art Index (includes film, 1929-1984)
  • Biography Index (1946-2006)
  • Film Literature Index (1973-1997)
  • International Index to Fiolm Periodicals (1972-1986)
  • New York Times Index (1851-present)
  • N.Y.T. Obituary Index (1858-1978)
  • Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-present) Pre-1977 look under "moving picture plays", 1977 - "motion pictures".

SHELVED IN REFERENCE

  • The Critical Index: a Bibliography of Articles on Film in English (1946-1973) Z5784.M9 G47
  • Film Review Annual (1987-2000) PN 1995.F 465
  • Motion Picture Directors: a Bibliography of Articles (1900-1972) Z5784.M9 S34
  • N.Y.T. Film Reviews (1913-1968)PN 1995.N 4