chat loading...
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film Research Guide (2020)

Search by Subject

Our online catalog and databases use hot-linked subject headings that you can search by, then follow to find more on the same subject. A general subject term is often followed by terms that make your search more specific. Examples:

Featured Books

Useful Web Sites

Academic Film Archive of North America

Online archive and information on educational film

AFI Catalog Database
"Filmographic information for all American feature films produced from 1893-1972, as well as AFI AWARDS Outstanding Movies of the Year for 2000-06."

British Film Institute: Film and TV Information
Search the film database, find statistics or browse the film links gateway for other useful web sites.

British Pathe Video Archive Edit/Delete Quick Stats
The British Pathé is one of the oldest, largest newsreel and video archives; it contains more than 90,000 historical clips and 3,500 hours of programming that cover the years from 1896 to the 1970s.

Criterion Collection
Descriptions and criticism of classic films.

Documentaryfilms.net
Reviews, interviews and other resources.

Film Archives Worldwide
List of moving image archives and research centers from the Library of Congress

Glossary of Filmographic Terms
Created by the Federation Internationale des Archives du Film.

Filmsite
Online encyclopedia, best lists, director filmographies, milestones, timelines, reference lists and more.

Great Directors: a Critical Database
"Within each profile is a critical essay, filmography, bibliography and web resources for further research."

Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
Online database with plot summaries, cast and crew lists, reviews, statistics and more.

Library of Congress: Historical Motion Pictures Online
Edison's early motion pictures, animation, industrial films and more.

Literary & Dramatic Adaptations
Database of films based on books, plays, and more.

Media History Project
The history of film, television and other media through classic magazines such as Moving Picture World and Journal of the Society of Motion Picture Engineers: also check out the timeline, extensive links, key words/concepts and more.

Pacific Film Archive Cinefiles
"Database of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents. The collection contains documents from a broad range of sources covering world cinema, past and present."

Online Film Dictionary
Look up film terms in foreign languages.

Open Video Project
Shared digital images collections from the national Aechives, Internet Archives, universities and more.

Performing Arts Databases of AHDS
Digital arts resources of the British Arts and Humanities Data Service: includes both film archives and writings on film.

SilentEra.com
Lists, bios, articles, etc.

Toonopedia
An online encyclopedia covering all aspects of cartoons.