Educ 370/570: Teaching the Social Sciences 2024: Subscription databases

100 years of the Roanoke Times, from 1889-1989.

Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Chicago Defender, an African-American newspaper founded in 1905. The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it has been described as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S.

Collection of primary materials dating to the 19th century drawn from more than 300 repositories. Both browseable and searchable.

LGBT History since 1940. Rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. This database includes 4 parts:
1) Debates over Slavery and Abolition
2) Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
3) The Institution of Slavery
4) The Age of Emancipation

More than 4,700 publications (books, pamphlets and periodicals) reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.

Collection of primary materials drawn from more than 300 repositories. Both browseable and searchable. (Includes material from the Persinger collection held here at Hollins!)