Educ 370/570: Teaching the Social Sciences 2024: Free online
Who might be interested in your topic?
Think about:
- Local libraries (public or academic)
- Historical societies
- Library of Congress
Visit their home pages. Have they digitized materials? If they haven't digitized, have they published Finding Aids (which give you a good sense of what materials are contained in their collections)?
Examples of Online Collections
- Digital Public Library of AmericaBrings together the digitized resources of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available.
- Library of Congress CollectionsAll types of collections from American history, from presidential papers to WPA posters to slave narratives.
- Documenting the American SouthA digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
- Avalon ProjectDocuments in law, history, and diplomacy, dating from ancient times to the present.
- Virginia MemoryFrom maps to newspapers to photographs, a source for digitized Virginia history from the Library of Virginia.
- Virginia Center for Digital HistoryVCDH is home to a number of digital projects spanning the range of American history, from the Jamestown settlement, to the Civil War, to the Civil Rights movement. VCDH is hosted by the University of Virginia.
- Chronicling America:From the Library of Congress, search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922.
- Europeana: Discover Europe's cultural heritageAccess to millions of items from providing institutions across Europe. Discover artworks, books, music, and videos on art, newspapers, archaeology, fashion, science, sport, and much more.
Your Librarian
Luke Vilelle
he/him
Contact:
Office: Library 1st floor: next to building entrance. Schedule an appointment at this URL: https://calendly.com/lvilelle/30min
______
______
362.6232
Website