CLAS/ES 311: Environmental History (2022): Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Atlases
A guide to research for students in Professor Salowey's class, by Librarians Maryke Barber and Rebecca Seipp
Historical Atlases
Historical Atlas of the Ancient WorldCall Number: 1st floor atlas stands: G1033 .H5713 2010ISBN: 9004171568This new atlas of the ancient world illustrates the political, economic, social and cultural developments in the ancient Near East, the Mediterranean world, the Byzantine Empire, the Islamic world and the Holy Roman Empire from the 3rd millennium BC until the 15th century AD.
Maps illustrate changes in civilizations and geography over time, as well as roads and routes; colonization; development; trading relations and more.
Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman worldCall Number: 1st floor atlas stands: G1033 .B3 2000ISBN: 069103169XThis at las provides detailed maps with elevation. See the map key in the front of the atlas for features such as: temples, mines, drainage, sandbanks, bogs, dams, wells, tunnels, major or minor roads.
More information on the atlas: http://www.unc.edu/depts/cl_atlas/
Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowReference Works from Oxford University Press; includes the Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
An Inventory of Archaic and Classical Poleis by Call Number: HU-General Coll HT114 .H37 2004, also an E-Book (click on link)
- Credo ReferenceGeneral reference; all subjects including a variety of art dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias in the Library
All of these can be found in the Reference Section on the first floor.
- The first books listed will help you understand your sites
(Brill's and OCD are also good for myth research); - Books in the middle are for researching ancient civilizations;
- The last few titles are useful for researching myths.
Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient worldCall Number: HU reference: DE5 .N4813 2002BLUE numbers = ancient world (start here)
RED numbers = classical tradition
Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical SitesCall Number: HU Reference: DE59 .P7 & also E-Book (click on link)
Oxford encyclopedia of archaeology in the Near EastCall Number: HU reference: DS56 .O9 1997
Dictionary of Ancient EgyptCall Number: HU Reference: DT58 .S55 1995
The Encyclopedia of the Egyptian Pharaohs by Call Number: HU Reference DT58 .B35 2008
Oxford Companion to Classical CivilizationCall Number: HU reference: DE5 .O94 1998Also online, in Oxford Reference online encyclopedia
Civilization of the ancient MediterraneanCall Number: HU reference: DE59 .C55 1988
Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic TraditionCall Number: HU Reference: DF757 .E53 2000- HU reference: Pictorial dictionary of ancient AthensCall Number: NA280 .T68
Early Greek myth : a guide to literary and artistic sourcesCall Number: HU-Reference BL782 .G34 1993
The Meridian Handbook of Classical Mythology by Call Number: HU Reference: BL303 .T75 1974
Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC)Call Number: HU reference: N7760 .L49 1981Dictionary of classical mythology in art
Two Librarians
Your librarians for this course are Maryke Barber and Rebecca Seipp. To reach Maryke Barber:
- Email her at mbarber@hollins.edu; or
- Schedule an appointment
To reach Rebecca Seipp:
Ask The Librarian
Rebecca Seipp
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328