CLAS/ES 311: Environmental History (2022): Journals & Databases
A guide to research for students in Professor Salowey's class, by Librarians Maryke Barber and Rebecca Seipp
Databases to Search
- Arts & Sciences (JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowFull text-articles from a wide range of journals in the arts and sciences. TIP: using advanced search, you can limit your search by discipline – Archaeology, Classical Studies, Geography, etc.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 7,000 publications on all academic subjects, including more than 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. You will also find books, reports, etc.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowFind full text and citations from more than 1300 journals in the area of environmental history, conservation, marine science, energy, geography, environmental law, and more.
- Google ScholarBroad coverage of scholarly material on all subjects. Not all full text, but you can find some interesting material not found elsewhere.
Looking for a Journal?
Got citation, need full text?
Use OneSearch to see if Hollins has access, in a database or in the library:
If Hollins does not have access, use Inter-Library loan.
Journals in the Library
The journals we have "in print" are shelved alphabetically:
current issues:
Lewis Reading Room, 1st floor
older issues:
ground floor "compact" shelves
Recommended Journals
- Agricultural History : 1927 – 2015 in JSTOR database ; more recent issues indexed, request via ILL.
- American Journal of Archaeology: 1897-2015 in JSTOR database ; more recent issues indexed, request via ILL.
- British Museum Studies in Ancient Egypt and Sudan
- Environment and History (from European Society of Environmental Historians) : 1995-2013 in JSTOR database. Issues from 2013-current indexed in Environment Complete database, request via ILL.
- Environmental History (from American Society of Environmental Historians) : 1996-2013 in JSTOR database; 2013-2016 in print.
- Environmental Ethics : 2013-present in Environment Complete database; 1979-2013 indexed, request via ILL..
- Environmental Review: 1976-1989, JSTOR database
- Journal of Egyptian Archaeology: 1914-2015, JSTOR database.
- Journal of Field Archaeology: 1974-2011, JSTOR database.
- Journal of Forest History, later continued as Forest and Conservation History: 1974-1989, JSTOR database, 1990-1995, JSTOR again.
- Journal of Near Eastern Studies: 1942-2015, JSTOR database
- Nature and Culture: 2006 - 2018, Academic Search Complete database. 2019 indexed, request via ILL.
- Near Eastern Archaeology: 1998-2014 JSTOR database.
- Oxford Journal of Archaeology: 1998 - 2018, Academic Search Complete database. 2019 indexed, request via ILL.
- Science: 1880-2013, JSTOR database ; 2013 – current, in print.
- Zeitschrift für Papyrologie und Epigraphik: 1967-2015, JSTOR database.
What if an article isn't full text in my database?
First, make sure you're looking at an article. Then click on the "Find at Hollins" Button. The video below shows you what you'll see.
Two Librarians
Your librarians for this course are Maryke Barber and Rebecca Seipp. To reach Maryke Barber:
- Email her at mbarber@hollins.edu; or
- Schedule an appointment
To reach Rebecca Seipp:
Ask The Librarian
Rebecca Seipp
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328