CLAS/ES 311: Environmental History (2022): Web Sites
Suggested Websites
Sites - Examples
Antioch (Princeton University Research Photographs)
Naukratis: Greeks in Egypt (British Museum)
Ostia: Harbor City of Ancient Rome
Texts
Perseus Collection of Greek and Roman Materials
The Perseus Library contains primary and secondary texts for the study of ancient Greece and Rome; in addition to this, you'll find a massive library of art objects, sites, and buildings. The library's catalogs document 1305 coins, 1909 vases, 2003 sculptures, 179 sites, 140 gems, and 424 buildings. Each catalog entry has a description of the object and its context; most have images. Descriptions and images have been produced in collaboration with many museums, institutions, and scholars. Catalog information and keywords have been taken from standard sources, which are cited in the entries for each object.
https://www.hs-augsburg.de/~harsch/augustana.html
(Biblioteca Augustana)
http://www.forumromanum.org/literature/index.html (CSL)
http://penelope.uchicago.edu/Thayer/E/Roman/home.html (Lacus Curtius)
https://sites.google.com/site/ancienttexts/
(LATO)
Dictionaries
Perseus Digital Encyclopedia: Lidell-Scott-Jones Ancient Greek Lexicon
Perseus Digital Encyclopedia: Lewis & Short Latin Dictionary
Everything you wanted to know about LSJ plus English-Ancient Greek searching ability
LOGEION: Simultaneous look-up of a word in several resources
Museums with Ancient Art
For University Faculty and Students
Getty Publications Virtual Library (free!)
The Getty Research Institute: Early Photography in Greece and the Mediterranean
Teaching History with 100 objects
Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Antiquities
John Latsis Foundation Museum Cycle: open access Greek museum catalogs
Study Abroad Programs
Intercollegiate Center for Classical Studies
Professional Organizations
Archaeological Institute of American (AIA)
Classical Association of the Middle, West, and South
Other Useful Sites
The Stoa Consortium (Digital Consortium): The Ancient City of Athens, Pompeian Households, Olynthus, Image Gallery, Trajan’s Column
Pleiades
Gazetteer of Ancient Sites and Mapping Center
The Theoi Project
A The Theoi Project is a site exploring Greek mythology and the godsin classical literature and art. The aim of the project is to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.
The Classical Art Research Centre
Searchable database of the art of ancient Greece and Rome in the Beazley Archives and the international research collaboration, CLAROS.
https://www.whitman.edu/theatre/theatretour/home.htm
(ancient theaters)
Two Librarians
Your librarians for this course are Maryke Barber and Rebecca Seipp. To reach Maryke Barber:
- Email her at mbarber@hollins.edu; or
- Schedule an appointment
To reach Rebecca Seipp:
Ask The Librarian
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University