GWS141: Intro to GWS 2022: Background
Using Reference Books
Use these books (and other reference books), found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of the library, as a starting place for your research. They are a good place to:
- find background information on your topic
- find terms and people and places you can use in later database searches
- get book and article lists ("bibliography" or "references")
Keep in mind:
- Reference books may not be checked out (to ensure they're available for everybody to use)
- You may make copies of reference book entries at the printers/scanners/copiers on the 1st and 2nd floors of the library
Books on activism: a sampling
#HashtagActivism : networks of race and gender justiceCall Number: P302.37 .J35 2020Publication Date: 2020
Arab America: gender, cultural politics, and activism by Call Number: E184.A65 N335 2012
The Ashgate Research Companion to Lesbian and Gay ActivismCall Number: HQ76.5 .A84 2015
Girls, Performance, and Activism: Demanding to be Heard by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2021
Junctures in Women's Leadership - Social MovementsCall Number: HQ1236 .J86 2016
Letting Go: Feminist and social justice insight and activism by Call Number: HQ1155 .L47 2015
The Movement for Reproductive Justice : Empowering Women of Color Through Social ActivismCall Number: onlinePublication Date: 2020
Powered by Girl: a field guide for supporting youth activists by Call Number: HQ799.2.P6 B76 2016
Reclaiming Our Space: how Black feminists are changing the world from the tweets to the streets by Call Number: HQ1197 J66Publication Date: 2019
Reproductive Rights As Human Rights: women of color and the fight for reproductive justice by Call Number: HQ1155 .L86 2020Publication Date: 2020
Social Change and Intersectional Activism by Call Number: HM881 .D64 2012
Social Justice Art by Call Number: N87 .D48 2014
Staging Dissent: Young Women of Color and Transnational Activism by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2017
Women Count: A guide to changing the world by Call Number: HQ1236 .B88 2010
In the Reference Collection (1st Floor)
- Race and racism in the United States : an encyclopedia of the American mosaicCall Number: E184.A1 R254 2014
- Black women in AmericaCall Number: E185.86 .B542 2005
- Encyclopedia of activism and social justiceCall Number: HM671 E53
- The Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia of social and political movementsCall Number: HM881 .W553 2013
- Encyclopedia of diversity and social justiceCall Number: HM1271 .E485 2015
- Encyclopedia of American social movementsCall Number: HN57 E594
- Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in AmericaCall Number: HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004
- Men and masculinities : a social, cultural, and historical encyclopediaCall Number: HQ1090.3 .M436 2004
- Encyclopedia of women and genderCall Number: HQ1115 .E43 2001
- Encyclopedia of gender and societyCall Number: HQ1115 .E54 2009
- • The women's movement today: an encyclopedia of third-wave feminismCall Number: HQ1115 .W644 2006
- Routledge international encyclopedia of womenCall Number: HQ1115 R69
- Women's rights in the United States : a comprehensive encyclopedia of issues, events, and peopleCall Number: HQ1236.5.U6 W677 2015
- Sexual violence and abuse : an encyclopedia of prevention, impacts, and recoveryCall Number: HV6556 .S447 2013
- Encyclopedia of domestic violence and abuseCall Number: HV6626 .E535 2013
- Domestic violence sourcebookCall Number: HV6626.2 .D685 2013
- Encyclopedia of Gender in MediaCall Number: P96.S5 E53 2012
- Encyclopedia of women's healthCall Number: RA778 E5825