Access World News provides extensive access to newspaper articles from around the nation and world, or you might choose to visit a particular media source, such as the New York Times (to which Hollins has an institutional subscription).
Our most comprehensive collection of newspapers and other media sources, Access World News is an excellent source for small to medium-sized papers across the United States, and for international media sources.
Register for a NYT account with your Hollins e-mail address to gain access to an unlimited number of NYT articles through our institutional subscription.
Scholarly articles
Google Scholar and OneSearch both provide a broad search across many scholarly fields of study.
In OneSearch, use the filters on the left (Peer-Reviewed Articles; Articles; etc.) to focus on the types of sources you seek.
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to the present. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. Focused on scholarly journals, with the inclusion of some activist publications.
Contains full text for many of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. Includes both scholarly and activist sources. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
Both databases are available through the EBSCO search engine, so you can search both at the same time.
LGBT Life and Women's Studies International
WHAT AM I SEARCHING?
These databases focus on gender and women's studies issues. They includes articles from both scholarly journals (such as Gender, Work and Organization) and magazines (such as Ms. and Herizon).
KEYWORDS:
Keywords = terms important to your topic, NOT words such as of, then, where, what, etc.
Think about your topic. What other words are used to represent your key concepts?
Pay attention to your results. What other words are used to represent your concepts?
Combine separate concepts (journalism; war) with AND - if you enter the search string JOURNALISM WAR, the database will search for "journalism war," not journalism and war.
Combine synonyms with OR. Example: (journalism OR reporting) AND war.
RESULTS:
Some articles will have full-text; others will have only abstracts
Sort by date or relevance (top of results page)
Email or print the articles you are interested in (under Tools on the right-hand side of the record page)
Get the formatted citation for an article (under Tools on the right-hand side of the record page)
NARROW RESULTS BY: OPTIONS
By Source Type (limit to academic journals): not all articles in a scholarly publication will be peer-reviewed.
By Subject: a great way to find other keywords to use in your search and to limit your results.
NO FULL-TEXT?
Click on Hollins Journal Finder. (Go to the Finding Full Text tab for further details).
