GPS480: Senior Thesis 2024: Articles
Article Databases: General Interest
- Google ScholarGoogle's answer to scholarly searching. Wide-ranging, including links to articles, books, theses, student papers, and whatever else it deems scholarly.
- Arts & Sciences (JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowAn archive of scholarly journals, often dating to the first issue of the journal (to the 1800s in some cases). Newest issues of journals (last 3 to 5 years) are usually not included.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)EBSCO's largest and general-interest database. Most communication-related material here will also be in the Communication & Mass Media database.
- Social Science Research NetworkA freely available online search. Includes an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 302,200 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 242,500 downloadable full text documents.
Article Databases: Around the Disciplines
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCovers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to the present. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. Focused on scholarly journals, with the inclusion of some activist publications.
- PsycNET (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFind scholarly articles, dissertations, and psychological scales (tests, measures).
PsycNET has precise indexing allowing a user to drill down to age group, population group, methodology, and by tests and measures. - Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowFind full text and citations from more than 1300 journals in the area of environmental history, conservation, marine science, energy, geography, environmental law, and more.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA database devoted to scholarly literature about political science. Partial full text.
What if an article isn't full-text?
First, make sure you're looking at an article. Then click on Find at Hollins. The video below shows you what the Journal Finder will do for you.
Find Journal by Title
From a database (such as EBSCO)
- Click on the Hollins Journal Finder link
Look at the results: do we have the journal?
- Do we have it in print or online (or both?)
- Do we have it for the year you need?
If we do not have the journal at all, or just don't have the year you need...
- Use Interlibrary Loan to get the article (articles are frequently delivered within 2-4 business days) in PDF format
Your Librarian
Luke Vilelle
he/him
Contact:
Office: Library 1st floor: next to building entrance. Schedule an appointment at this URL: https://calendly.com/lvilelle/30min
______
______
362.6232
Website