Course Guides: Theatre History, Theory & Criticism (2024): Articles & Databases

More Databases - Scholarly Journals

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
More than 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
Arts & Sciences (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Full text-articles from a wide range of journals, with great academic coverage of the arts. TIP: using advanced search, you can limit your search by discipline – History, Music, Performing Arts etc. - or search only in the abstracts or captions of an article.
Gale Literary Resources This link opens in a new window
Great source for playwright biographies, also literary criticism (including drama). Searchable by author, title, subject, genre and more.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 7,000 publications on all academic subjects, including more than 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. You will also find books, reports, etc.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journals and eBooks in the arts and sciences by Johns Hopkins Univ. Press and other scholarly publishers.
MLA (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography indexes books, articles and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, providing coverage from 1926 to the present.
Dissertations Online This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Use this database to find context, and journals not found in other databases. Includes good coverage of drama with articles published from 1920-present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Companion to "America & History & Life", this searches for articles, dissertations and more on the history of the world from 1450 onward, EXCEPT FOR the U.S. and Canada. TIP: Advanced search allows limiting by language and historical period.

Databases - Newspapers & Magazines

Articles & Reviews 1980s - today

Access World News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Our most comprehensive collection of newspapers and other media sources, Access World News is an excellent source for small to medium-sized papers across the United States, and for international media sources.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A current news and business database, Factiva includes content from newspapers, magazines, and transcripts from television/radio news programs. INCLUDES Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and New York Times.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 15,000 business, news, and legal sources.

Articles & Reviews 1690s - 1980s

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search selected newspapers from 1690-1920.
Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from popular magazines from 1890-1982. RG contains citations from over 3 million articles from 375 leading magazines.

New York Times Subscription

The Library offers a free group subscription to The New York Times for current faculty and students. To set up a subscription, use the instructions below while you are on the Hollins campus. Remote students needing access, please email a request to Maryke Barber at mbarber@hollins.edu

NY Times Grouppass SubScription for Hollins

New York Times: Historical Archives (1851-3 years ago) This link opens in a new window
Search every issue of the NYT from 1851 to 3 years prior to the current year, including all articles, illustrations, and advertisements.