chat loading...
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comm470: Communication Studies Senior Seminar 2019: Articles

Article Databases

Article Databases: General Interest

Article Databases: Around the Disciplines

Thinking about a topic related to:

Searching Tips & Tricks

1. Use subject headings!

2. Take advantage of any “times cited” or “cited by” features (available most prominently in Google Scholar, EBSCO and JSTOR). 

3. If I search for DOCTORS PATIENTS COMMUNICATION, what does the database search for?

  • Most will search for both the plural and singular forms of the word. (The library catalog and WorldCat will NOT do this).
  • Most will search for your terms as a phrase, though some will assume you meant to put an AND between the words. (For example, all EBSCO databases will search for a phrase; the library catalog will put an AND between each word.)

4. To search for a phrase, put quotation marks around the phrase: “doctor-patient communication.” (this applies in every database I’m aware of).

5. To search for synonyms, combine them with an OR.

  • (doctors or physicians) and patients and (communication or discussions)

6. To expand your search, use wildcards or truncation figures.

  • An asterisk frequently is used to represent multiple characters: comput* will retrieve computers, computing, etc.
  • A question mark is frequently used to represent a single character. Wom?n will retrieve women and  woman (though many databases will automatically search for both now). 

 7. When searching full text (in a database such as JSTOR or LexisNexis), use proximity search operators (sometimes called search connectors).

  •   JSTOR: "doctor patient"~10 : Requires that the words be within 10 words of each other)
  • Lexis-Nexis: doctor w/10 patient : Requires that the words be within 10 words of each other.
  •  Doctor w/s patient : Requires that the words be in the same sentence.
  •  Doctor w/p patient : Requires that the words be in the same paragraph.

 8. Examples of other interesting search functionality (usually available by looking at the Help pages):

  • In LexisNexis: “length>500” : the article must be greater than 500 words.
  • In JSTOR: Doctors patients communication^7 : The word communication is 7 times more important than the words doctors and patients. Rank these results by relevance accordingly.

What if an article isn't full-tex?

First, make sure you're looking at an article. Then click on Hollins JournalFinder. The video below shows you what the Journal Finder will do for you.

View the video in full-screen mode: Journal Finder video

Using Journal Finder from Wyndham Robertson Library on Vimeo.

Find Journal by Title

From a database (such as EBSCO)

  • Click on the Hollins Journal Finder link

Look at the results: do we have the journal?

  • Do we have it in print or online (or both?)
  • Do we have it for the year you need?

If we do not have the journal at all, or just don't have the year you need...

  • Use Interlibrary Loan to get the article (articles are frequently delivered within 2-4 business days) in PDF format

Your Librarian

Luke Vilelle's picture
Luke Vilelle
chat loading...
Contact:
Office: Library's second floor: up the middle stairs, go right, and you'll see a sign pointing to my office. Schedule appointment here: https://calendly.com/lvilelle/30min
______
362.6232
Website