ART: Art & Artists Research for Studio Art Courses (2024)
Web Sites - Contemporary Artists
Hyperallergic (especially Beer With a Painter)
The Artist Project (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Recommended Museum Collections
Museum collections offer high-quality images and reliable information. Searching for your artist + "museum" is a great place to start, but it's also fun to browse the biggest & best! Here are just a couple:
Art Encyclopedias and Dictionaries in the Library
Use these encyclopedias and dictionaries, found on the library's first floor, to help you find background information and sources for your research:
Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Art by Call Number: HU-Reference N6490 .M6758 2017
Styles, Schools and Movements by Call Number: HU-Reference N6490.4 .D45 2005
The Dictionary of the Avant GardesCall Number: HU-Reference NX456 .K67 2000
Historical Dictionary of Romantic Art and ArchitectureCall Number: HU-Reference N6465.R6 P35 2011
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century by Call Number: HU-Reference N6503 .N67 1995
Encyclopedia of Asian American Artists by Call Number: HU-Reference N6538.A83 H35 2007Look right next to this book for the Encyclopedias of African American Artists, Arab American Artists, Jewish American Artists and Native American Artists.
Credo will help you with definitions and longer overviews of topics in all subjects: history, culture, science and more.
Suggested Terms to Search and Browse for Mixed Media Movements and Processes
Cubism
Dada
Surrealism
Neo Dada
Nouveau Réalisme
Pop
Photomontage
Assemblage
Collage
Decollage
Papier Colle
Ready Made