FYS: Designing Women (2022)
OneSearch: Books, Articles, Films & More
More Places to Search
Worldcat: Find books in libraries worldwide, and order them via Inter-Library Loan if Hollins does not have them.
TIP: Using www.worldcat.org will sort your results by relevance; using hollins.worldcat.org will put our books first.
Google Scholar searches for scholarly material from university websites and other databases.
Some results will have full text; if not, check OneSearch and if Hollins doesn't have access you can order them via inter-library loan.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an archive of scholarly journal articles and eBooks from a wide variety of disciplines (from the sciences to the humanities to the arts), with journal coverage dating back to the 1800s. The most recent two to five years of a journal may not be included, however.
- Art and Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window600+ full-text journals on art, architecture, film & photography. Includes scholarly journals, international titles, images, and also books; topics include art theory and criticism, news, exhibition reviews and more.
If Hollins Doesn't Have It
You can request books, films, and articles the library doesn't own via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
ILL takes approximately 2-4 days for articles, 1-3 weeks for books and films.
For more information on how ILL works, watch this video.
Recommended Web Sites
- Women Writing Architecture
"An open-access list of texts written by women about architecture." The list is collaboratively edited: another wiki :) - Pioneering Women of American Architecture
"A collection of profiles of fifty women who have made important contributions to American architecture." - Beverly Willis Architectural Foundation. - AHRnet Biographical Dictionary of British and Irish Architects 1800-1950
"3,000 biographies of architects working in all the four nations of the UK, plus the Republic of Ireland."
Why Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are expert sources that summarize important evidence, and point you toward other reliable sources.
Search over 500 dictionaries and encyclopedias in Credo.
The Oxford Companion to ArchitectureCall Number: HU-Reference NA31 .O94 2009
The Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World ArchitectureCall Number: HU-Reference NA687 .P48 2011
Reference is on the library's 1st floor.