REL217: Islamic Traditions 2017: Overview Sources
Organizations
-
Introduction to Islam
from the Middle East Institute -
Islam - Religions & Ethicsoverview from the BBC
-
Al-islam.org: Ahlul Bayt Digital Islamic Library Projectincludes "discover Islam" as well as browsable multimedia library of Islamic resources
-
Islam and Islamic Studies ResourcesWeb site by Professor Alan Godlas, professor of religion at the University of Georgia
-
Islam: A PrimerPDF text of the February 19, 2003, CRS (Congressional Research Service) Report for Congress about Islam
-
Islamic Society of North America (ISNA)works to promote understanding of Islam as well as providing humanitarian assistance to people in Darfur, people who suffered from the tsunami in Southeast Asia, and others in need
-
Muslim Public Affairs Council (MPAC)"a public service agency working for the civil rights of American Muslims, for the integration of Islam into American pluralism, and for a positive, constructive relationship between American Muslims and their representatives"
Online
-
Credo ReferenceA collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
-
A Shi'ite Encyclopedia
has information on Sunni and Shia branches, discussion of law and traditions, and list of English-language Islamic texts
From the Reference Section
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World by Call Number: HU Ref DS35.53 .O96 2009ISBN: 9780195305135Publication Date: 2009-04-03
New Encyclopedia of Islam by Call Number: HU Ref BP40 .G42 2013ISBN: 9781442223486Publication Date: 2013-10-25
Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalism by Call Number: HU Ref BP166.14.F85 G85 2012ISBN: 9780810878211Publication Date: 2012-07-20
History of Jewish-Muslim Relations by Call Number: HU Ref BP173.J8 b H574 2013ISBN: 9780691151274Publication Date: 2013-11-03
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought by Call Number: HU Ref JC49 .P75 2013ISBN: 9780691134840Publication Date: 2012-11-11
