Many other journals will include studies on girlhood. If you search in any other subject-specific database (e.g., Women's Studies International, or LGBT Life), use appropriate keywords to help you find those studies.
Contains full text for many of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. Includes both scholarly and activist sources. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to the present. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. Focused on scholarly journals, with the inclusion of some activist publications.
JSTOR includes articles and eBooks from across all academic disciplines; to limit to sources from only a particular subject area, use this Advanced Search interface.
1. Link your Google Scholar searches to library full-text access. Click on Settings / Library Links, and then search for "Hollins." Check all the boxes associated with Hollins.
2. When viewing results, links with full-text availability are to the right of the results list. These will include both links to openly available sources, and links to library-provided content.
3. Title links may or may not take you to the full text of the article; sometimes they will only take you to a paywall. If you encounter a paywall, use Interlibrary Loan to obtain the article you need.
4. Results will include more than just journal articles; books from Google Books, dissertations, other student papers... all of these may appear in Google Scholar searches.
5. Use the Cited By links to trace literature forward; e.g., see who has cited this particular time.
