SPAN 327: Hispanic Women: Articles & Databases
Looking for a Journal?
Got a citation?
Use the Journal Finder to find a specific journal.
If Hollins does not have the journal, use Interlibrary loan.
Using the Library's Databases to Find Journal Articles
WHERE:
- Go to the library homepage, then select the "Articles" tab. Search EBSCO Databases or JSTOR databases from that tab.
- DON'T FORGET, you can look at databases by type or subject. In the Articles tab select "Click here for all databases".
- Databases by type that might be useful: Credo Reference and Biography Reference Bank
HOW:
- Check the database page to see if there is a link to full text. Not there? Then....
- Check the holdings to see if the full text is available online or in paper
- Looking for a specific journal? Try the Journal Finder!
- Can't find the article you're looking for in the library or online? Try Interlibrary Loan!
SEARCH TIPS:
- Keywords: don't forget to try broader/narrower terms, synonyms, and related terms
- Click on each title to get the full information (catalog record)
- Use Subject links to find similar items or for keywords
- Try a Boolean Operator: AND, NOT, OR
- How about a wildcard? Invent* will give you: Invent, Invents, Inventor, Invention
Journal Articles
EBSCO Search - all databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe library's largest general interest database. Partial full text.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Good for non-US resources. The database includes full text for nearly 1,200 journals.
- Arts & Sciences (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
- MLA (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography indexes books, articles and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, providing coverage from 1926 to the present.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text academic journals and eBooks in the arts and sciences by Johns Hopkins Univ. Press and other scholarly publishers.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly articles, books, dissertations, government publication from 12 databases that cover science, economics, and the humanities.
Subject Guide
Rebecca Seipp
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328