FYS: The Power of Passion and the Passion for Power (2020): Biographical/Background
This guide is for students in Profe Ridley's FYS.
Biographical Information
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Call Number: HU Ref F1406 .E53 1996
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by Call Number: HU Ref PQ7081 .A1 E56 1997
Latino American Cinema: an encyclopedia of movies, stars, concepts, and trendsCall Number: HU - Reference PN1995.9.L37 B38 2012
Notable Twentieth-Century Latin American Women by Call Number: HU-Ref CT3290 .N68 2001
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by Call Number: HU Ref HQ1121 .O93 2008
Pop Culture in Latin America and the CaribbeanCall Number: HU-Reference F1408.3 .N485 2015
Women in World History by Call Number: HU Ref HQ1115 .W6 1999
Women of Power: half a century of female presidents and prime ministers worldwide. by Call Number: HU Ref HQ1236 .S5713 2014
Reference in OneSearch
TIP: to find reference books in OneSearch:
- Limit to Resource Type - Reference Entries (includes full text online)
- Limit to Location - HU Reference (physical reference books)
Credo Reference
Credo Reference includes hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Literary Genres Explained
Need a good explanation for magic realism, or postmodernist poetry? This book is great at helping you define and understand major movements and genres in literature:
Literary Movements for Students: presenting analysis, context, and criticism on literary movementsCall Number: HU - Reference PN597 .L58 2002
Why use a reference book?
Use these books (and other reference books), found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of the library, as a starting place for your research. They are a good place to:
- find background information on your subject
- find terms and people and places you can use in later database searches
- get book/article lists about your subject ("bibliography" or "references")
Keep in mind:
- Reference books may not be checked out (to ensure they're available for everybody to use)
- You may scan/copy reference book entries at the library printers, either in the Coffee Commons or on the 2nd & 3rd floors.