Course Guides: FYS: Cultural Raiders: Research Process

Where to search

To search the library's holdings or one of the databases we discussed in class, start by going to the library's website.

Library Website

From the library's home page, you can search OneSearch, access the A-Z list of databases ("Articles and Databases"), access this course guide, request an inter-library loan, and get help from a librarian.

Additional resources:

Trafficking Culture Website
Site recommended by Prof. Breske

Can't find what you are looking for at Hollins? Request materials using inter-library loan.

Search tips

Library Session Slides
Tips on organizing research, the research process, and strategic searching.

Places to search

Worldcat: Find books in libraries worldwide, and order them via Inter-Library Loan if Hollins does not have them.

TIP: Using www.worldcat.org will sort your results by relevance; using hollins.worldcat.org will put our books first.

Google Scholar searches for scholarly material from university websites and other databases.

Some results will have full text; if not, check OneSearch and if Hollins doesn't have access you can order them via inter-library loan.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journal articles and eBooks from a wide variety of disciplines (from the sciences to the humanities to the arts), with journal coverage dating back to the 1800s. The most recent two to five years of a journal may not be included, however.

Art and Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
600+ full-text journals on art, architecture, film & photography. Includes scholarly journals, international titles, images, and also books; topics include art theory and criticism, news, exhibition reviews and more.

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>