19th and 20th Century France: Les Beaux-Arts
Artstor
Artstor Digital Library is an image databases that provides access to collections from museums, artists, artists' estates, photographers, scholars, special collections, and photo archives. Use advanced search to narrow by date range and georgraphy.
19th Century
Nineteenth Century Art Worldwide - As the name suggests, this scholarly journal is dedicated "... to the study of nineteenth-century painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts across the globe" and chornologically covers the "long" ninetheenth century (American & French Rvolution to the start of WWI). You can perform keyword searches using the box on the right or you can browse articles by issue (click on "past issues" below the search box).
Les expositions universelles à Paris 1867-1900 - There were five University Expositions (also know as World Fairs) held in Paris in the 19th century. Explore images of each fair in Paris from the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
Image: Photographs by Maurice Gilbert from BnF, Estampes et Photographie
Street Scences of Paris in the 19th Century: from the comic to the tragic is a collection of illustrations, drawings, and engravings depecting life in the capital city. The images are hosted by Brown University, high-res may not be available.
19th Century Painting movements
The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York provides access to thousands of images of paintings from various artistic periods. Below are examples from important painting movements in 19th Century Europe, many of which are French. Click on the link next to each example for more works of art. Be sure to look at the thematic essays in the top right column for more information on the movement and important figures in the movement.
Romanticism
"Romanticism is precisely situated neither in choice of subject nor in exact truth, but in a way of feeling." -Baudelaire, 1846
"Camille Corot: The Ferryman" (14.40.811) In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History . New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000–. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/14.40.811. (December 2008)
Realism
"Honoré Daumier: Council of War" (22.63.7) In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History . New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000–. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/22.63.7. (October 2006)
Academic Painting
"Pierre-Auguste Cot: The Storm" (87.15.134) In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History . New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000–. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/87.15.134. (December 2008)
Impressionism
"August Renoir: By the Seashore" (29.100.125) In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History . New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000–. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/29.100.125. (May 2011)
Orientalism
"Charles Sprague Pearce: The Arab Jeweler" (22.69) In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History . New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000–. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/22.69. (October 2006)
20th Century Painting Movements
The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York provides access to thousands of images of paintings, sculptures, photographs, clothing, and other artistic creations. Below are examples of French art in the 20th century. Follow the links for more information on movements, artists, or images.
Cubism
"Fernand Léger: The Bargeman" (1999.363.35) In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History . New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000–. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/1999.363.35. (October 2006)
School of Paris
"Maurice de Vlaminck: The River Seine at Chatou" (1999.363.84) In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History . New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000–. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/1999.363.84. (October 2006)
Paul Poiret
"Paul Poiret: Ensemble" (2005.193a-g) In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History . New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000–. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/2005.193a-g. (September 2008)
Eugène Atget
"Eugène Atget: 15, rue Maitre-Albert" (1991.1233) In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History . New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000–. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/1991.1233. (October 2006)
Auguste Rodin
"Auguste Rodin: The Bronze Age, also known as The Vanquished" (07.127) In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History . New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000–. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/07.127. (October 2006)