FYS: Erasing History 2021: Article Databases

NexisUni includes articles from a wide variety of newspapers (and a few magazines and broadcast news shows).

The library subscribes to more than 100 databases, with various types of content, ranging from scholarly journal articles to magazine/newspaper articles to books to videos to historical documents. These are three recommended sources for scholarly journal and magazine articles.

• Sign in using your Hollins username and password.

WHAT AM I SEARCHING?

• Academic Search Complete is a database of articles from scholarly journals and trade magazines in the communication studies field.

KEYWORDS:

• Keywords = terms important to your topic, NOT words such as of, then, where, what, etc.
• Think about your topic.  What other words are used to represent your key concepts?
• Pay attention to your results.  What other words are used to represent your concepts?
• Combine separate concepts (journalism; war) with AND - if you enter the search string JOURNALISM WAR, the database will search for "journalism war," not journalism and war.
• Combine synonyms with OR.  Example: (journalism OR reporting) AND war.

RESULTS:

• Some articles will have full-text; others will have only abstracts
• Sort by date or relevance (top of results page)
• Email or print the articles you are interested in (under Tools on the left-hand side of the record page)
• Get the properly formatted citation for an article (under Tools on the left-hand side of the record page)

NARROW RESULTS BY: OPTIONS

• By Source Type (limit to academic journals): not all articles in a scholarly publication will be peer-reviewed. 
• By Subject: a great way to find other keywords to use in your search and to limit your results.

NO FULL-TEXT?

• Click on Hollins Journal Finder. (Go to the Finding Full Text tab for further details).

Not every result you see will automatically be relevant to your work. For example, click on the link below to look at a set of search results for "Wire and HBO."

Which of these articles have the most to say about The Wire as a television show?