chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's Literature Research: Background Sources

Online Encyclopedias

Browsing the Reference Books

Children's Literature Reference books are located on the third floor of the library, on the short wall of the Children's Alcove (location: HU Children's Alcove). 

  • GRs for folk and fairy tale encyclopedias and indexes
  • Ps for general literature encyclopedias and indexes
  • Zs for bibliographies and booklists

Additional General Reference books are located on the first floor (location: HU Reference).  Many of these more general resources include relevant entries related to children's literature.

  • GRs for folk and fairy tale encyclopedias and indexes
  • Ps for general literature encyclopedias and indexes, including encyclopedias by nationality and genre
  • Zs for bibliographies and materials related to the history of the book

Looking for Fairy Tales?

Doing fairy tale research in Wyndham Robertson Library?  We have a number of reference works in General Reference (1st Floor) and the Children’s Alcove (3rd Floor) to support this research.

For general information about tales, try a subject search of "Fairy Tales Encyclopedias" or "Folklore Encyclopedias"

 

For more in-depth research on a particular tale or motif try the following resources:

Reference Works in the Library: Examples

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Rebecca Seipp
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328