Children's Literature Research: Books
Quick Links to Find
- Picture BooksSUBJECT: Picture books for children
- Alphabet BooksSUBJECT: alphabet books
- Fantasy FictionSUBJECT: Fantasy Fiction
TRY THIS:
Search: Science Fiction
THEN, use the filters on the left - limit by LOCATION: HU-Juvenile Coll. - Third Floor
Searching for Books
Use the search box below to search the combined holdings of Roanoke and Hollins.
- Roanoke Public LibrariesStudents at Hollins also have access to the holdings of our local public libraries. Take your Hollins ID card to a local public library to register and get a public library card. You can request to have books from any of the local public libraries delivered to the public library of your choice - the Hollins Branch Library on Peter's Creek Road is the closest to our campus.
- Google BooksGoogle Books contains full text for books in the public domain; partial text for books under copyright. Very useful for finding out which books contain information on your topic; then you can order them via inter-library loan.
Where are the books?
- You will find scholarly books about children's literature in the General Collection on the 2nd and 3rd floor.
- The Juvenile Collection contains actual children's books and is on the 3rd floor.
- The Young Adult books are in the YANA section on the 2nd floor balcony.
In addition, Hollins shares a library catalog with Roanoke College, which also holds many children's book. When you search the library catalog you are searching both the Hollins & Roanoke College library collection. To obtain a book from Roanoke College click the "request item" button online and the book will be delivered to our ciruclation desk the next business day.
Books in OneSearch
Identifying books on a subject
The library subscribes to some databases that allow you to search only children's books, based on a variety of factors (such as reading level, subject, etc.). The results will probably give you many books we do *not* have here, but you may be able to get them at the public library or through Interlibrary Loan.
- Database of Award Winning Children's Literature This link opens in a new windowA searchable database of children's books that have won one of the indexed awards -- NOT comprehensive - includes 102 awards across six English-speaking countries (United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland).