chat loading...
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Photography (2020): Books

A guide for students in photography classes- created by librarian Maryke Barber

Books, Articles & Films from Hollins and RC

Search the Hollins and Roa. College collections:

More Books

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Worldcat: Find books in libraries worldwide, and order them via Inter-Library Loan if Hollins does not have them.

TIPS:

  • Using www.worldcat.org will sort your results by relevance; using hollins.worldcat.org will put our books first.
  • When searching for a person in Worldcat, it helps to add a search term (or two) about who they are/what they do - to sort them out from other people with the same name. Try the following formula for photographers, for example:

Matthew Brady and photo*

or use the advanced search:

  • keyword: "Matthew Brady"
  • subject: photo*

Google Books contains full text for books in the public domain (pre-1923); partial text for books under copyright.

Very useful for finding out which books contain information on your topic; then you can order them via inter-library loan if Hollins doesn't have them.

Search Tips

Examples of subjects in the online catalog:

  • Weems, Carrie Mae,1953 -- Exhibitions

             This is an exhibition catalog.

General subjects (for a list you can browse):

  • Photographers
  • Photography, artistic
  • Photojournalism
  • Photography - History
  • Photograph collections

Search for People:

Last name, first name:

Mann, Sally

No results? Search more broadly: 

women photographers OR
"united states" and photographers

Or to narrow down, add:

  • Country
  • Time period (19th century, 20th century, etc.)
  • Genre (pinhole)

Use the *

Use the *  (asterisk) to truncate your search terms, to search several terms at once.
Example: photograph* = photograph, photographs, photography, photographer, etc.

Where are the.....

Book Locations

 

HU - General Collection:
"T" numbers are on the 2nd floor

 

HU - Folio and Oversize Folio:
2nd floor - TR is on the balcony!

 

HU- Reference
1st floor

 

RC - General Collection
use the "request" function in the online catalog

What the Numbers Mean

TR in Detail

TR 1

Periodicals. Societies. Almanacs. Yearbooks

TR 6

Exhibitions. Collections

TR 9-12

Dictionaries & directories

TR 15

History of photography (general)

TR 21-126

By country

TR 139

Biography

TR 144-145

General works on photography

TR 183

Psychology, aesthetics, etc.

TR 250-265

Cameras

TR 267

Digital photography

TR 510

Color photography

TR 640-685

Artistic photography

TR 642

General works

TR 644-647

Exhibitions

TR 647

Works of individual photographers, A-Z (international)

TR 650-655

Collections of art photographs

TR 651-655

By period

TR 654

       1951-

TR 655

       2000-

TR 656-686

Genres of artistic photography

TR 657-658

Art objects

TR 659

Architecture

TR 660

Landscape

TR 674-675

Human figure

TR 680-681

Portraits

TR 681

Special classes of persons, A-Z

TR 681 .W6

Women

TR 685

Photomontage

TR 690-

Other types of photography: commercial, scientific, etc.

TR 721-729

Nature photography

TR 820

Photojournalism

TR 820.5

Documentary photography

TR 845-899

Cinematography

TR 848

History

TR 849

Biography

TR 850-851

General works

TR 892-896

Applied cinematography

TR 897.5

Animated filmmaking

TR 897.7

Computer applications

TR 899

Miscellaneous aspects of cinematography

TR 925-1045

Photomechanical processes

Recent Photography Books