BIO/INTL 121: Plants & People 2015: Background Sources
Background Sources
Have You Applied Yet?
Quizzing you...
True: 14 votes (53.85%)
False: 12 votes (46.15%)
Total Votes: 26
Access tons of full text articles: 8 votes (38.1%)
Look at other people's diaries: 3 votes (14.29%)
Check subscription coverage that Hollins has for print and online journals: 4 votes (19.05%)
Access tons of full text and check Hollins subscription coverage: 6 votes (28.57%)
Total Votes: 21
True: 15 votes (62.5%)
False: 9 votes (37.5%)
Total Votes: 24
Reference Books
Use these books (and other reference books), found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of the library, as a starting place for your research. Reference books are a good place to find background information on your research and to become familiar with the concepts and terminology associated with your topic.
-
Our Earth's Changing Land: An Encyclopedia of Land-Use and Land-Cover Change
by
Call Number: HU-Reference GF90 .O87 2006ISBN: 0313327041 -
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America
by
Call Number: HU-Reference QH77.N56 B43 2001ISBN: 0787650307 -
The Island Press Bibliography of Environmental Literature
by
Call Number: HU-Reference QH541.I85 1993ISBN: 1559631899 -
The Plant-Book: A Portable Dictionary of the Vascular Plants
by
Call Number: HU-Reference QK11 .M29 1998ISBN: 0521414210 -
Mabberley's Plant-Book: A Portable Dictionary of Plants, Their Classification and Uses
by
Call Number: HU-Reference QK11 .M29 2008ISBN: 0521820715 -
-
-
A Guide to Medicinal Plants: An Illustrated, Scientific and Medicinal Approach
by
Call Number: HU-Reference QK99.S55 K64 2009ISBN: 9812837094 -
-
-
Trees of the Southeastern United States
by
Call Number: HU-Reference QK125 .D79 1988ISBN: 0820322717 -
Medicinal Plants of the World: Chemical Constituents, Traditional and Modern Medicinal Uses
by
Call Number: HU-Reference RS164 .R676ISBN: 1588291294 -
Potter's New Cyclopaedia of Botanical Drugs and Preparations
by
Call Number: HU-Reference RS164 .W7 1988ISBN: 0852071973 -
-
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
by
Call Number: HU-Reference PN 56.S9 F47 2007ISBN: 9780521690546Publication Date: 2007-06-21 -
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
by
Call Number: GT2850 .E53 2003ISBN: 0684805685Publication Date: 2002-12-17 -
Folklore and Symbolism of Flowers, Plants and Trees
by
Call Number: GR780 .L44 2003ISBN: 0486429784Publication Date: 2003-10-23 -
Historical Dictionary of the Green Movement
by
Call Number: GE195 .P36 2007ISBN: 9780810856141Publication Date: 2007-08-14 -
CRC Ethnobotany Desk Reference
by
Call Number: HU-Reference GN476.73 .J66 1999ISBN: 084931187XPublication Date: 1998-12-11 -
Herbal Medicines
by
Call Number: HU-Reference RM666.H33 H468 2013ISBN: 0857110357Publication Date: 2013-01-21Lib Use Only
Sciences Librarian
James Miller
he/him/his
Contact:
millerjc@hollins.edu
540-362-6653
Office: Wyndham Robertson Library, 1st floor, Room 103
B.A. English, Austin College
M.L.I.S., Library & Information Science, Drexel University
540-362-6653
Office: Wyndham Robertson Library, 1st floor, Room 103
B.A. English, Austin College
M.L.I.S., Library & Information Science, Drexel University
540-362-6653
Website
USE LATIN NAMES FOR PLANTS!!!
When searching the databases, avoid the common names of plants, BE SPECIFIC. Instead of doing searches for Tulsi, search "Ocimum sanctum"
Library Locations & Numbers
Book Locations
HU - General Collection:
"N" numbers are on the 3rd floor
HU - Folio and Oversize Folio:
2nd floor
HU- Reference
1st floor
HU - Annex
use the "request" function in the online catalog
RC - General Collection
use the "request" function in the online catalog