chat loading...
Skip to main content

BIO/INTL 121: Plants & People 2015: Background Sources

Background Sources

Credo Logo


Have You Applied Yet?

Quizzing you...

Over 90% of online content is available for free on the internet
True: 14 votes (53.85%)
False: 12 votes (46.15%)
Total Votes: 26
Searching Journal Finder is a way to...
Access tons of full text articles: 8 votes (38.1%)
Look at other people's diaries: 3 votes (14.29%)
Check subscription coverage that Hollins has for print and online journals: 4 votes (19.05%)
Access tons of full text and check Hollins subscription coverage: 6 votes (28.57%)
Total Votes: 21
I like Google Scholar, but it doesn't allow me to access full-text articles through the Hollins Library.
True: 15 votes (62.5%)
False: 9 votes (37.5%)
Total Votes: 24

Reference Books

Use these books (and other reference books), found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of the library, as a starting place for your research.  Reference books are a good place to find background information on your research and to become familiar with the concepts and terminology associated with your topic.

Sciences Librarian

James Miller's picture
James Miller
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
millerjc@hollins.edu
540-362-6653
Office: Wyndham Robertson Library, 1st floor, Room 103
B.A. English, Austin College
M.L.I.S., Library & Information Science, Drexel University
540-362-6653

USE LATIN NAMES FOR PLANTS!!!

When searching the databases, avoid the common names of plants, BE SPECIFIC. Instead of doing searches for Tulsi, search "Ocimum sanctum"

Library Locations & Numbers

Book Locations

 

HU - General Collection:
"N" numbers are on the 3rd floor

 

HU - Folio and Oversize Folio:
2nd floor

 

HU- Reference
1st floor

 

HU - Annex
use the "request" function in the online catalog

 

RC - General Collection
use the "request" function in the online catalog