chat loading...
Skip to main content

ENG 275: Speculative Fiction (2019): Potential Sources

This is a guide for Professor De Groot's Speculative Fiction course.

Potential Sources: Other Indexes

Some of the bibliographic entries listed in your motif refer to other motif-indexes. Here are a few that may come up:

 

Location, Location, Location

Remember that all of the children's literature material is housed on the 3rd floor, either in the Children's Alcove or in the Juvenile Collection. The Children's Alcove has scholarly material about Children's Literature, meaning it has encyclopedias, books, and journals. The Juvenile Collection contains actual children's book.

When you search the library's catalog look at the location - that will tell you where the item is located. 

  ˄ Note that the encyclopedia above is in the Reference Section of the Children's Alcove.


ALSO,

Children's Literature journals are also  in the Children's Alcove on the shelves next to the computers.

Published before 1924?

Works that were published in 1923 and earlier are in the public domain. If we do not have that title in our collection, you should search online to see if you can find a freely available copy. A few places that might be useful:

  • HathiTrust - Digital Library with access to millions of digitized from partner libraries and institutions worldwide.
  • GoogleBooks
  • Archive.org - Nonprofit library of millions of free books, movies, software, etc.

Fairy Tale Collections

Reference Sources (aka Encyclopedias)

Favorite Fairy Tales: By Country