Graduate Playwriting Research at Hollins (2024)
Articles in OneSearch and Google Scholar
This search combines the Hollins + Roanoke College collections.
Need some help? We have videos about how to use OneSearch.
Find more full text! LibKey automatically creates links to full text article PDFs from the library's subscriptions.
More Databases - All Subjects
- A-Z Database ListClick on the "Subjects" dropdown to see all available subject areas
More Databases - Scholarly Journals
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new windowMore than 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
- Arts & Sciences (JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowFull text-articles from a wide range of journals, with great academic coverage of the arts. TIP: using advanced search, you can limit your search by discipline – History, Music, Performing Arts etc. - or search only in the abstracts or captions of an article.
- Gale Literary Resources This link opens in a new windowGreat source for playwright biographies, also literary criticism (including drama). Searchable by author, title, subject, genre and more.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 7,000 publications on all academic subjects, including more than 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. You will also find books, reports, etc.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text academic journals and eBooks in the arts and sciences by Johns Hopkins Univ. Press and other scholarly publishers.
- MLA (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography indexes books, articles and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, providing coverage from 1926 to the present.
- Dissertations Online This link opens in a new window
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowFind journal articles, reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Use this database to find context, and journals not found in other databases. Includes good coverage of drama with articles published from 1920-present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCompanion to "America & History & Life", this searches for articles, dissertations and more on the history of the world from 1450 onward, EXCEPT FOR the U.S. and Canada. TIP: Advanced search allows limiting by language and historical period.
Databases - Newspapers & Magazines
Articles & Reviews 1980s - today
- Access World News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowOur most comprehensive collection of newspapers and other media sources, Access World News is an excellent source for small to medium-sized papers across the United States, and for international media sources.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowA current news and business database, Factiva includes content from newspapers, magazines, and transcripts from television/radio news programs. INCLUDES Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and New York Times.
- Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis) This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 15,000 business, news, and legal sources.
Articles & Reviews 1690s - 1980s
- Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from popular magazines from 1890-1982. RG contains citations from over 3 million articles from 375 leading magazines.
Search Tip: Combining Key Words
How to search
AND, OR, & NOT (also known as "Boolean operators") help you combine search words, to find what you are looking for. Watch this video to find out how it works:
Adapted from the materials created by The University of Auckland Library, NZ. This video is covered by a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-ShareAlike license.
Play Indexes
Use these collections to search for pre-2000 plays by subject, or search for hard-to-find items that may have been published in a magazine, collection or anthology:
Play Index
(1949-1997)
Reference Z5781.P53
Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections
(1900-2000)
Reference PN1655 .O88 2011
Theater Index to Plays in Periodicals
(through 1987)
Reference Z5781.K43
To search for contemporary plays in collections, use Worldcat
Indexes: Find Historical Articles
LOCATION: the first floor of the library, on the first shelves across from the reference desk.
RECOMMENDED INDEXES:
- Biography Index
(1946-2006) - Essay & General Literature Index
(1900-1979) - New York Times Index*
(1851-current) - Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature
(1900-present)
*for reviews from 1920-1980, use the New York Times Theatre Reviews ( PN1581 .N4 )
NOTE:
· Useful for finding older articles that may not yet be searchable online.
· Search by play name, playwright, theater company or other subject.
· Does the library have that journal? Check the title in OneSearch