HIST 114: Modern Europe
Keywords
Places to find primary sources:
- Library
- Archive
- Bibliographies (from secondary sources)
- Museums
- Historical societies
- governments
- "Document reader"
- Published diaries, letters, papers
Your Librarian
Rebecca Seipp
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328
General collections
Additional Source Collections
- The Times (London): Historical Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
- Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
Sources found in class
| Theme | Keywords | Primary Source Collection | Source Title |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ideology | Anarchism, liberalism, social, conservatism, feminism, nationalism | Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité Exploring the French Revolution | Letter from Monseron de l’Aunay to the Marquis de Condorcet, President of the Society of Friends of the Blacks (24 December 1789) |
| Rebellion and Revolution | Revolution, France, 1780's, pamphlet, treaty | EuroDocs > France > French Revolution | What is the Third Estate? |
| Class | French Revolution, wealth, disadvantage, Louis XVI, women | Gerritsen Collection | Women, Their Condition and Influence on Society |
| Liberalism/socialism/fascism | Marx, Socialist Exiles, Irish exiles, Irish nationalism, Labor parties and unions, class, nationalism, Paris commune, anarchism, 19th century, March 1871, French Revolution, Third Republic | Northwestern photo collection | Destruction Damage to the Tuileries |
| Rebellion and Revolution | France, French Revolution, Italy, Italian Revolution, Russia, Bolshevik Revolution, Revolutionary War, US, The Troubles, Ireland, feminism | French Revolution Digital Archive | PARLIAMENTARY ARCHIVES FROM 1787 TO 1860 FIRST SERIES (1787 TO 1799) VOLUME LXXVIII FROM 8 BRUMAIRE YEAR II (OCTOBER 29, 1793 TO NOVEMBER 10, 1793). |
| Rebellion and Revolution | Haitian Revolution, Saint-Domingue, Toussaint Louverture, abolitionism, colonialism, Napolean, 1780s, slavery, independence, 18th century | World Digital Library | Santo Domingo, past and present, with a glance at Hayti |
| Rebellion and Revolution | Germany, Jews, poetry, World War II, war, suffering, Hitler, Jewish communities, | Sydney Jewish Museum | Telling the Holocaust through poems |