chat loading...

Skip to Main Content

Hollins University

My Library Account

My Library Account

FIND
SERVICES
ABOUT US
HELP
Ask the Library

FIND
SERVICES
ABOUT US
HELP
Ask the Library

Library
Course Guides
History 350: Race and Gender at Work
Primary Sources: Labor

Search this Guide

History 350: Race and Gender at Work

Primary Sources: Labor
Primary Sources: 19th century
Primary Sources: 20th century
What is a primary source?
Keyword Brainstorming

Union Newspapers

AFL-CIO News 1956-1996
The Carpenter Magazine
Cigar Makers' Official Journal
CIO News 1937-1955
Commonwealth College fortnightly
Electrical Worker 1893 - present
Firefighter: Bulletin of the Fire Brigades Union, 1932-2001
The Industrial Union Bulletin, 1907-1909
The Industrial Worker. 1909-1913
Justice, 1919-1995 (ILGWU)
The Ladies Garment Worker, 1910-1918
Lather, 1930-1971
Minneapolis Labor Review, 1907-2022
The Railway Review, various years from 1880-1892
Teamsters Magazine, 1940-1969
Texas Labor Newspapers, 1901-1950
Voices of Industry, 1845-1848

History of Labor in Virginia

History of Labor in Virginia - interactive timeline, not a primary source

Credit

The organization for this page and most links were borrowed from "Primary Sources - History : Labor - Library Guides at University of Washington Libraries (uw.edu)".

A young spooler in Roanoke (Va.) Cotton Mills. May, 1911

Unions

American Federation of Labor Records
California Labor Federation, AFL-CIO, Proceedings and Publications
Canadian Farmworkers Union Collection
Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers - FBI Files
Farmworker Movement Documentation Project
Industrial Workers of the World
International Ladies’ Garment Workers’ Union (ILGWU)
Labor Unions in the US: 1862-1974: Kings of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO
National Domestic Workers Union (U.S.)
Professional Air Traffic Controllers Organization (PATCO)
The Socialist Party of America Records
United Electrical, Radio, and Machine Workers of America (UE) Records
Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records

Working Conditions & Working Life

The 'Sweated Trades': Working life in the early 20th century
A. & L. Tirocchi Dressmakers Project
America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894 to 1915
American Life Histories: Manuscripts from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1940
Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center
Child Labor photography collection, early 20th century
Chinese Railroad Workers Project
Eastern Airlines Collection
Home Economics Archive (HEARTH), 1850-1950
Inside an American Factory: Films of the Westinghouse Works, 1904
Kheel Center Labor Photos
National Child Labor Committee Collection (photograph), 1908-1924
The Real Rosie the Riveter Project
Rosie the Riveter/World War II American Home Front
Strawbridge & Clothier's Store Chat magazine, 1906 - 1996 (not continuous)
Tradeswomen Archives Project Collection
U.S. Steel Photograph Collection
Women Working, 1800-1930

Events

1911 Triangle Factory Fire
1926 General Strike
Centralia Tragedy and Industrial Wokers of the World (IWW) collection
The Everett Massacre
The Flint Sit-Down Strike, 1936-1937
The General Textile Strike of 1934
The Haymarket Affair Digital Collection
Herrin Massacre investigation proceedings
I Am a Man, The Memphis Sanitation Workers Strike, 1968

Next: Primary Sources: 19th century >>

Last Updated: Apr 30, 2024 10:00 AM
URL: https://libguides.hollins.edu/labor-history
Print Page

Login to LibApps

Report a problem

Subjects: History

Tags: history