ENG 205: The History of the English Language (2025)
Your Librarian
Rebecca Seipp Behnisch
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328
Consider
| Consider... | Try this... |
|---|---|
| Portmanteau? | Research both words |
| Is it African American Language? | Also called AAVE and Black English (among other names), go to ORAAL for an introduction, research AAVE lists, and search the library for resources about the history of AAL |
| When did people begin using the word? | Look at the OED's ngram and/or Google Ngram, or Chronicling America. (Also consider the amount of time it takes for a word to be included in printed sources. For example, a book takes years to publish!) |
Primary source collections
-
Life Magazine Archive (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowLife Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000. The database includes PDF's of articles, including photographs.
-
HathiTrustThe HathiTrust Digital Library has millions of digitized books from libraries and other cultural institutions. Hollins users will be able to access items that are in the public domain.
-
Hollins History (Publications)Includes: the alumnae magazine, Hollins student newspaper, "Inside Hollins," Student Handbooks, and "The Spinster" (yearbook)
-
New York Times: Historical Archives (1851-3 years ago) This link opens in a new windowContains every issue of the New York Times, a prominent national newspaper, published from its first issue in 1851 to 3 years prior to the current year, including all articles, illustrations, and advertisements. For current content, please visit http://libguides.hollins.edu/nytpass to learn about our institutional digital subscription.
-
Rolling Stone This link opens in a new windowMagazine featuring articles and interviews on popular music, film, TV, and politics, 1967-present.
-
The Times (London): Historical Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new windowThe Times (London) Digital Archive is an online, full-text version of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
-
View all newspaper databasesAll newspaper databases available through the library
Examples from class
