HIST/GWS 250: Women, Gender, and Sexuality in the United States
Public Domain
Anything published in 1927 or earlier is in the public domain, meaning it is out of copyright and you can likely access it online if you find a digitized copy.
Online collections of books and periodicals
- HathiTrustThe HathiTrust Digital Library has millions of digitized books from libraries and other cultural institutions. Hollins users will be able to access items that are in the public domain.
- The Internet ArchiveExtensive online collection that includes books, webpages, audio, and more. Some items that are not in the public domain may be available to checkout for 1 hour at a time with a free account.
- Google BooksIncludes the full text of books and periodicals scanned by Google. If the item is still under copyright, you may be able to search inside the book, but will only see limited results or a small portion of the text.
Your Librarian
Rebecca Seipp
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328
OneSearch
Searching for books in OneSearch:
- Use the drop-down filter to limit to books.
- Check the location: you will see results for Hollins and Roanoke College (RC). If you'd like something from RC, use the request button. (Note: the request button will only show up if you are signed-in to the library's website.)
Searching for journals/newspapers/magazines in OneSearch:
- First, try searching with the article title.
- No results? Search the journal/newspaper/magazine title, then check the dates we have coverage:
Where is everything?
Search OneSearch for books, e-books and films. Remember, it searching Hollins' and Roanoke College's collection. Be sure to look at the location code (HU = Hollins, RC = Roanoke College). If you need something at Roanoke College click the "Request" button and it will be delivered the next weekday. You can also use your Hollins ID to checkout books at RC.
WHERE:
- HU-Reference & Folio books: located on the ground floor of the library.
- HU-General Collection: located on the 2nd (P-Z) and 3rd (A-N) floors of the library
- RC-General Collection: click Request this item for delivery in 1 week day!
- E-Books: follow the link to read the book online!
ILL
Not in our collection? You can get it for free through InterLibrary Loan.